We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Inn needs a little sprucing up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Little Inn of Bayfield
Ranked #1 of 7 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little Inn needs a little sprucing up”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We just returned from four days at the Little Inn and would like to provide this review while the memories are fresh. The staff are terriffic. Each of the staff members was courteous and caring. The room servicing was timely and more than adequate. The food was very good, but the dinner menu needs some variety, especially in the entree department.
Where the wheels fall off are the easy things for them to address but they don't seem motivated to do so which is not a staff problem but a management one. For example they have a lovely garden patio to sit in, but the furniture is cheap junk and worse it is dirty junk. Ants everywhere and when I mentioned it, ho hum. The room furniture is not comfortable nor are the chairs clean. The fireplace was not operable. The so called jacuzzi tub is more of a wading pond for kids and the shower is not only crappy but getting in and out is dangerous at least in the Florence Walton Suite. We may return but not to use that room. No TV in the loft bedroom is a downer as is the climb down the stairs if you need to go in the night...another dangerous condition they could easily fix with a proper handrail. The carpets in the hall ways are worn out with obvious stains and burn holes . The main floor common area in the cottage building is very nice.
There are lots of positives...the staff, the general atmosphere and the town itself is just great. The Little Inn can fix their problems in days not even weeks and it would greatly enhance their guests' experience.

Room Tip: cottage building rooms with a loft bedroom are not guest friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    135
    37
    6
    3
See reviews for
61
393
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent the week travelling across Ontario staying at several Inns. With out question, we enjoyed our stay at The Little Inn the most. From the moment we were greeted at reception, we were treated the utmost respect and care. Our suite, in the guest cottage was quaint and clean featuring a whirlpool and private veranda. Our meals were cooked to perfection and service we received on the patio was truly beyond expectation. It was getting close to dusk between our main and dessert. Our server recommended that we take in Bayfield's world famous sunset, offering to personally bring our desserts to our suite across the street after the sun went down. We graciously accepted her offer and enjoyed our incredible dessert, on our private veranda. With out hesitation, I would recommend the Little Inn for a truly pampered getaway.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pgw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagersville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I had the worst steak in my life there today server was no help told me where the meat came from not why it was full of fat and I doubt it was aged 2 days,,, aging gives it taste as it had none ,,,spiced up with all kinds of vegs to cover up what is lacking Taste and flavour from a nice piece of meat try elsewere you are not missing a thing there,,, very disappointed ,,never to return>>>

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Little Inn for the first time, for our 5th anniversary. I read reviews on trip advisor first as I noticed there are lots of inns and B&B's around and it's hard to know where to stay. I didn't read a single review that was bad about The Little Inn and thought we would give it a try.

Unfortunately when I booked it was only a week away and we didn't have a choice of which room we wanted so we got the last room available which was Rm. 10. It was a small room but everything we needed for our stay. It was very cute, clean and cozy. We loved the touch of cookies on our bed upon arrival and someone showing us to our room when we got there.

The inn was clean, comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. Our breakfasts were great each morning and dinner was even better! Our waitress at dinner was knowledgeable about the menu and any changes we wanted to make to our dinner was accepted. We didn't feel rushed through our meal at all, and the dinner room was quiet and relaxing. It was an extra bonus that the price we paid covered both breakfasts and dinner. Many other inns I looked at were much more expensive and often didn't even provide any meals. We were happy to not have to consider the extra costs of food on top of our weekends expenses.

The ice cream shop across the road was delicious and we loved the antique store down the road. We even bought a kitchen table that the owners were glad to deliver to our home 3 hours away for only $50 charge. We found the lake closely with no problems and walked there after breakfast and dinner. Overall the entire village of hayfield was friendly and relaxing. We loved being there and would definitely go back and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend here on the July long weekend with our teenagers and some of their friends. We had two suites on the second floor in order to give the kids their own space. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We love the history and the personality of each room. The staff is second to none. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. We dined in the restaurant for breakfasts and one dinner. The quality of the food and the wait staff is excellent. We would highly recommend this place. We had not stayed there for a number of years before this return trip but we will definitely not wait so long to go back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the rooms on the front with a walk-out to a balcony that wraps around the upper story. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommyboy41699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

An absolutely amazing “long weekend”!
The Inn was extremely clean and well appointed, with each room done differently than the other. It had a wonderful eclectic feel to it and yet no detail compromised its’ historical integrity.
But, most noteworthy: what truly impressed us was the incredibly high caliber of the Staff – 100% across the board, without exception.
The initial greeting by Nicole was professional and yet absolutely inviting. At our amazing gourmet dinner, Tom added genuinely interesting conversation throughout his impeccable service. And Becca was equally gracious and friendly at our (late!) elegant breakfasts. Even those in Housekeeping were all cheery and welcoming, as we passed in the hallways.
It is rare that you find a combined staff so committed and well trained. Kudo’s to Darren for his management.
Needless to say, we would definitely recommend The Little Inn in Bayfield – in fact, we already have - to several of our friends!
All the best!
Jan & Allan Hunter

Room Tip: We stayed in #36 & liked it. Although, it would have nice to have a bathtub. (I think all of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanHunter2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful weekend at The Little Inn, to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. We stayed in a junior suite, with direct access to the wrap around 2nd floor balcony. The room was spacious enough, and the bed was very comfortable. We had dinner at the Inn on the Saturday, and it was a first rate meal.

The staff couldn't do enough for us, and Bayfield is delightful.
We will definitely go back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Imf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
0.7 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
82 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
68 reviews
11.3 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Goderich
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#2 of 9 in Goderich
262 reviews
12.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
234 reviews
17.3 mi away
Oakwood Resort
Oakwood Resort
#1 of 4 in Grand Bend
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Inn of Bayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Inn of Bayfield

Property: The Little Inn of Bayfield
Address: 26 Main Street North, Bayfield, Bluewater, Ontario N0M 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Bluewater > Bayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Little Inn of Bayfield 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque, heritage village of Bayfield, Ontario, on Lake Huron's sandy shores, The Little Inn provides charming and authentic accommodations and an exceptional culinary experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Little Inn of Bayfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Little Hotel Bayfield
The Little Inn Of Bayfield Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing