We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Huron trip”
Review of The Albion Hotel

The Albion Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Albion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lake Huron trip”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great location and service in a classic property. Nice restaurant and bar too. The owner Kim provided great personal service. An easy walk to the park overlooking the beach too. We had a 2nd floor room overlooking the main street with a nice covered porch. We will certainly stay here again next time in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
25
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Every so often, 6 of us friends take an 'old car trip', that is, we all have vintage cars and take a meandering trip from the Falls and end up in Bayfield at The Albion, we have to stay at The Albion or it just wouldn't be the same. It's an old inn built in the 1800's complete with its own ghost story. Situated in a pretty quaint town, you can stroll the street looking in the many shops, walk to the beach or as we do, relax on the upper balcony and watch the traffic go by. We would never want to stay in a chain hotel. This place has history, charm and character. The owner and staff are always friendly and very helpful and even remember us from our last visit! The rooms have real wood furniture, are generous in size and we love that the rooms aren't so modern, we don't need a TV or wireless we are here to enjoy the quiet! The pub below has the best wings, great appetizers and cold drinks! Would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a place with character and charm, looking for reasonably priced rooms. There are only 4 rooms, so book ahead!
Thanks Kim and staff for a great stay!

Room Tip: room #4, the haunted room, its large, has its own screen door that opens onto the front balcony, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monypenny07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Albion Hotel as it was a close drive to Grand Bend (and was one of the best "pictured" on the internet for the cost). It was a very relaxing retreat from the city as we had a (shared) balcony right outside our room so it was great to go outside for a nice cigar and over-look a rustic town. I would like to point out the bar/restaurant is directly below....it didn't bother me as I'm used to the city noise but expect an occasionaly burst of laughter and drunk shouts every once and a while (lasted to about 12am on and off).
The owner was friendly to talk to (as is for most of the town) but by dinner time everyone is busy handling customer orders (ps, most of the staff are summer students so don't expect high end service or gourmet meals....it's pub food and the tap water has flavor). Also at check in, consider that you're in a small town and the service is as best as small town service can be...it was an intro to my vacation that I needed to exercise patience.
The room was large, but very dated. It did have a reno'd bathroom with everything in great working order....by the way, the water in the shower smelled like the tap water tasted. The bed was the worst part of the the stay: we pretty much slept in our clothes as the linens, mattress, and bed spread was really bad (old, yellow, and just nasty).

The cost was approx $130 for the night.

I'd most likely stay there again because of the price, proximity to Grand Bend, and room comfort (for the price), but I'm afraid to sleep in that bed again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This little gem nestled in the town of Bayfield offers the small town experience.The recent upgrades and improvments do not take away from it's rustic appeal.
Kim and his staff go out of their way to greet guests and are continuously concerned with their comfort.
The food is great and is enjoyed by all who come out to the special nights sponsored at the Albion. The bike riders in the summer and snowmobilers in the winter are all greeted by a hand shake and a smile from the owner of this establishment. There have even been horse riders stopping by just to enjoy the friendliness of this special little place. Sports events,trivial pursuit nights and the various holidays means there is always something going on at the Albion.
We look forward to another trip to this Bayfield establishment.
Bren Brown (Ontario Steel Horse Riders)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenspt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Clean and quiet but super basic. Above a pub but surprisingly quiet (the AC drowned out all noise). No closet, only a coat rack. No phone, no TV. You check in at the bar, and this took us about 20 minutes, which would have been fine if I was offered a beer but alas, customers in the Pub come first. Breakfast is beyond basic. The person handling the breakfast set up did not even say hello, even when spoken too. The shower rod in the bathroom is worse than my first apartment. Unfortunatley your choice of locations to stay on the main street is limited and this is the least expensive. We had the base room (all that was left) which, with taxes was $140. Honestly the room is worth $50 room at best, but this is a tourist town with a limited season.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pertrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
0.9 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Bayfield
76 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
60 reviews
11.4 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Goderich
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#1 of 9 in Goderich
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Little Inn of Bayfield
0.1 mi away
The Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albion Hotel

Property: The Albion Hotel
Address: 1 Main St, Bayfield, Bluewater, Ontario N0M 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Bluewater > Bayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Albion Hotel Bayfield, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing