We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The whole menu is amazing!”

The Black Dog Village Pub & Bistro
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The whole menu is amazing!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Bayfield is a lovely little town on Lake Huron. A little like Niagara-on-the-Lake without the huge crowds and a little more laid back. The Black Dog Bistro sits across from the town Square in a great location with charming patio and roomy indoor seating. This was our first visit. The menu posted outside looked really good so we went in.

Between the four of us we had:
a super caesar salad
a tasty beet/goat's cheese salad on a generous arugula base
a gravalax on warm potato salad
mushroom and brie broiled onto thick coat fresh bread toasts
duck confit taco's
pork belly taco
Scotch Egg with spicy tomato relish
Scotland Burger with blue cheese and onion rings

Each of these items was a small plate (apart from the burger) but the salads were generously sized if not American "climbable" sized. What linked them all was a creativity, flair and layering of flavours that made them most satisfying. Overall the menu was amazing. 6-8 burgers, 8-10 apps and small plates and another 8 entrees, all of them looked really appetizing. I think I could have picked any at random and been happy!

We never saw the dessert menu but I'm sure it was similarly awesome but if not, there is a great fro-yo & ice cream place across the street.

Did I mention they have a dozen beers on tap (some really interesting) and another 20+ in bottles and a pretty good wine list too? We walked out of the Black Dog totally sated and happy. Price was very reasonable for such a stunning meal. Do yourself a favour a take a very pleasant drive in the country this summer and have a lunch you will look forward to repeating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    135
    26
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, food and drinks!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

One of our favourite spots. The food is fantastic, service is great and the selection of beer and other beverages is the best in the area! I highly recommend the beet salad and the soft pretzels! To die for!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewater, Canada
2 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

You will see but broad menu, good service, sophisticated for what is essentially a gastropub. In a town with lots of options, this provides the best food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Longasyourarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very cute place.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stop in this restaurant. Yummy food. Enjoyed sitting outside on the patio area. I gas a delicious salad and some sweet potato fries. My friend had a fish dish. Both of us felt like it was the perfect place to relax and people watch.Close to all the stores downtown too. Perfect summer menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ltibanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The BDB was found to reflect a quaint European pub. They specialize in local and international beer as well as single malt whiskeys. My wife does not like the taste of beer but was pleasantly surprised when the bartender gave her a sample of a strawberry wheat beer called Fruli which only had an alcohol content of 2.5%. She had two. I enjoyed a few samplings of their Belgium wheat beers. Amazing quality and pleasant flavour in the European tradition. We chose to share an appetizer of lamb & sausage corn dogs with herb mayo and two warm salty mustard beer pretzels. Ummm good. All in all a pleasant experience at a fair price of $34.00. Be forwarned, seating is limited so get there early, make a reservation or be prepared to wait for a seat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klaus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Dog Village Pub & Bistro also viewed

Bayfield, Bluewater
 

Been to The Black Dog Village Pub & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing