We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, tired and slow”
Review of On the Bean

On the Bean
Ranked #29 of 153 Restaurants in Aurora
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Old, tired and slow”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I dropped in for a quick breakfast to go. The place really needs a face lift and is in need of some new equipment. I hadn't been there for at least 10 years and it hasn't changed a bit. I don't know how long this owner has been there but it really needs to be spruced up a bit.
The service was very slow it took over 20 minutes to get two sandwiches to go. The coffee was not labeled so I had to ask what each one was. Even though I did not need a coffee it came with the sandwich and so I took one. The coffee was good. The food was just ok and not worth the wait.
I can understand why people like the place it is very homey and the person serving was nice, I just felt I was intruding in someone else’s place and did not feel very welcome. But I can see the appeal this place holds for the regulars. It’s just not for me.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karatemikew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What the Starbucks of the world strive to be...”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great intimate coffeeshop, excellent coffee, excellent sandwiches and treats, and Frank's soups are to die for! So good in fact, that at least a couple of times a month we buy some to take home and freeze. Kids love going there as well, and Frank and his wife always treat them so well.

Cozy environment, local gathering place for conversation, or take a book off the wall and have a quiet read. Note that it's mostly a morning and daytime coffee shop, not generally open into the evening, and I think he's closed on Sunday?

Also a nice patio and walking area in the St Andrews plaza when the weather's nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jack-pm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“comfy”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Friendly, comfortable, relaxing with great food, Lots of second hand books for sale. Quick service with great soup!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain05080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“here is where you are a person”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Frank the proprietor greets you with a smile and calls you by name every time you come through the front door. Coffee is ready - what kind do you like? Breakfast, lunch, snack - the baking is always fresh. Sit and chat awhile with an old friend or new friend. Bring a friend. Read a book; read the daily paper; read a magazine. OTB is the place to be! It's not fancy; it's quaint; it's like home. See you there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eyewander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Bean also viewed

 
Aurora, Ontario
Newmarket, Ontario
 

Been to On the Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing