We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep coming back to Shan because I love it!”
Review of shan asian cuisine - CLOSED

shan asian cuisine
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Serving you authentic Asian cuisine in a vintage, yet contemporary setting. We offer the best of Thai, Szechuan and Japanese, prepared from the highest quality and freshest ingredients. Enjoy the full experience through meals expertly paired with wine or sake. With a trendy space and cozy atmosphere, we bring people together from city to city.
Aurora
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I keep coming back to Shan because I love it!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I love this place. It has such a good variety of food -- Chinese, Dim Sum, and Thai selections. We have a vegetarian in the family and she always finds lots of things to choose from in the menu. The prices are good value, the service is prompt and I find the staff to be super-friendly. They recognize me when I come in with a warm smile. We've been there about 10 times and each time was really good. Top marks for consistency!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shan-fantastic Chinese food in Aurora”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

As a Markham Dim-Sum junkie, I can comfortably report Shan delivers a fantastic Chinese meal with fresh ingredients prepared fresh and served fresh. You couldn't ask for a better lunch spot in aurora.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bignikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good value, nice atmosphere, friendly service”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visited this restaurant based on the reviews. I was not disappointed.

We had the Thai spring roll appetizer along with a miso and a hot and sour soup. I was especially impressed with the hot and sour as most places it tastes like it came from a can whereas at Shan it actually tasted freshly made. The spirng roles were crisp and tasty. For the main course we shared a mixed seafood plate and curry chicken. The chicken was good with tender pieces - not over cooked. The mixed seafood was so-so as the calamari was a bit chewy and some of the muscles shells were empty.

The atmosphere is calming and the lighted water bubble window as you come in adds a nice ambiance.

Dinner for two with two beers came to $62 plus tip. This we found was good value. Overall we will go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good cuisine and friendly staff”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very good cuisine, in a little, nice and clean place. The service is fast and the staff is very friendly and kind. I don't remembre If you don't mind hot dishes try the "Hot and sour soup" and "vietnamese yellow curry", they are very good!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Quincey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We go to Shan regularly. My husband an I go as a couple and we go with our children, family and friends as well. The service is prompt and attentive. They pay attention to detail and do remember their guest when they return. The food is well prepared, plated beautifully and is always delicious. We have been many times and are always pleased with our food and the friendly staff. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary-TerryBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed shan asian cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing