We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ancaster Mill

The Ancaster Mill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ancaster Mill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in Ancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wilson Street
Description: The beautifully restored Ancaster Mill boasts a picturesque and Historic setting. The Dining Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with panoramic views of waterfalls and naturally landscaped gardens. The interior decor accents the authentic look with warm earth tones and large stone fireplaces, creating a relaxing atmosphere. Ancaster is home to one of Canada"s most diverse and productive agricultural regions. With seasonal offerings inspired by Landmark Group's Earth to Table philosophy, Ancaster Mill's menus offer impeccable local ingredients from neadby farms and food artisans. The Ancaster Mill beverage selection compliments this with featured signature drinks and an expansive Wine List, including several by-the-glass selections.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

parents gift for anniversary enjoyed the meal and attention.
It was not very well lit difficult to see but food was priced accordingly and in range for most. Would recommend to anyone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ivory m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    132
    47
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“MMMMMmmm Great Food !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stopped by to get permission to take waterfall pictures & then found out they had a restaurant !! happy we had supper there !! We had heirloom tomato salad, & Truffle Fries then Pasta Special & Vegetable Quinoa !!! both were very good ... Prices where fair for a restaurant north of Kelsey's !! i wish we lived closer so we could back soon !!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Truffles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“love brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Frequently go for brunch, we have a family event every fall. Great food. Good value (considering some prices for brunch), especially if you go early. Dinner is very good as well. Every time we have gone the service has been excellent. Bring back the maple bread pudding!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Upscale & Exquisite Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Each room offers the guest an opportunity surrounded by such pulchritude. They all have the ability to make the meal feel intimate. We sat in the room with a view of the cascading river, along which the steps run up to the adjacent lot for additional parking. The view was wondrous and I almost wish we could have sat at a table outside because the sound of the river was so enchanting when the doors were opened.

Our waiter was very well versed in fine dining. We were properly seated and even had our napkin placed in our laps for us. We were told the wheel they use to prepare the risotto needed to be replaced and so for the moment the risotto was prepared in the kitchen instead of tableside. It was delicious and worth ordering even without the show. We also ordered the fresh pasta which was prepared with fresh tomatoes and twice smoked bacon. I wavered on ordering this because I thought it was a vegetarian dish but it didn't have many vegetables in it. I didn't know at the time that there was actually bacon in it. This is a dish I plan to try and reproduce at home with tomatoes from our garden. It was that good!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Girls Doing Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

First timers we 6 Girls were and it won't be the last...amazing food and staff..David and Monique went above and beyond to make our visit memorable..and tell her thanks for judging the "Napkin Off".

Helpful?
Thank KimOverholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ancaster Mill also viewed

 

Been to The Ancaster Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing