We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yearly tradition gets better and better”
Review of The Ancaster Mill

The Ancaster Mill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ancaster Mill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 59 Restaurants in Ancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wilson Street
Description: The beautifully restored Ancaster Mill boasts a picturesque and Historic setting. The Dining Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with panoramic views of waterfalls and naturally landscaped gardens. The interior decor accents the authentic look with warm earth tones and large stone fireplaces, creating a relaxing atmosphere. Ancaster is home to one of Canada"s most diverse and productive agricultural regions. With seasonal offerings inspired by Landmark Group's Earth to Table philosophy, Ancaster Mill's menus offer impeccable local ingredients from neadby farms and food artisans. The Ancaster Mill beverage selection compliments this with featured signature drinks and an expansive Wine List, including several by-the-glass selections.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yearly tradition gets better and better”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Dinner at the Ancaster Mill has become our anniversary tradition. We have been going there 9 years and I seem to enjoy it more each time. I have a weakness for the bread and apple butter and probably enjoy that more than I should. They now charge $5 for this but you do not go here for a "value" meal so it is no big deal. The charcuterie board was excellent to share. The strip loin was delicious and my wife raved about the house cut sirloin. Overall the atmosphere is very relaxed. The staff are very friendly and the service is always outstanding. If you are looking for an excellent meal with great staff and a relaxing atmosphere, you will find it at the Mill. They now sell jars of apple butter to take home!! See you next year

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bc805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    143
    48
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner in a fabulous setting”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My sister and I went here for dinner a few weeks ago and it was great. We each have been here many times and the meal that night reminded us why. Excellent food and service both which made the prices reasonable. Will definitely be back. The Sunday brunch is also highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch isn't all that great”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

have been there twice now with family for sunday brunch. it is around $40 per person for the buffett, and I can't really figure out why. the food is average at best - most of the typical 'breakfast' items I could make better at home (eggs, bacon, sausage, etc.). the roast beef was very salty and the other 'lunch' items were nothing special. Ok, but not $40 per person ok! The only thing I can think of for why the price is so high is the fact that they have fresh oysters and crab legs (yum - top marks there!) and fresh squeezed juices. Otherwise, it was a typical all-you-can-eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Anniversary Lunch”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A beautiful summer day, a pleasant drive up the escarpment, lovely gardens and sparkling water cascading over rugged rocks set the stage for our celebration. We chose to have a late lunch so mid week we were able to have a window seat overlooking the little river.

The tempting selection of offerings made it hard to choose what to order. We lingered with our selections, never feeling rushed.

The presentetation was hard to disturb but one bite and the next could not be denied.

A very welcoming and attentive staff!

Plan to visit for a meal well worth every dollar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarilynBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Stunning Views”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My sister treated me to dinner one night recently at an old family favorite restaurant that I hadn't been to in years and although my now husband took me here frequently when we were dating and my family has had family gatherings there occasionally I had not been to the Old Mill in quite some years now. I have to say although the scenery is still gorgeous and tranquil the food has really become the star of the Old Mill. From the amuse bouche of arancini wth poached lobster to the last bite of this most incredible cheesecake and everything in between was very well received. The service was excellent, even though out server was still training, she knew what she was talking about and very friendly. I will definitely go again and much sooner this time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Genla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ancaster Mill also viewed

 

Been to The Ancaster Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing