We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit, Did Not Disappoint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavallo Nero

Cavallo Nero
Ranked #4 of 59 Restaurants in Ancaster
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Second Visit, Did Not Disappoint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Three of us visited for our second time 09/15. Concerns over a missed call-in reservation were quickly dealt with by Mark, who swooped in and found us a nice table immediately and the night went great from then on! Martha could not have been more attentive, knows her menu and made great suggestions. Try the Caesar Salad-fantastic! Their stone baked gourmet pizza was delicious and unique. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JodyWaterloo_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    69
    37
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jerseyvill, ontario, canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Booked this restaurant as I had been given a gift card for my birthday. Took a friend on her birthday. Excellent dinner from appetizer, salad, dinner and dessert. Would definately recommend this restaurant and I can't wait to go back to try something new. Lots of choices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Gluten Free Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I stopped in for dinner other night here and were quit impressed with the food and the price. She is celiac and found the food very tasty. The gluten free bread was really good to I couldn't tell the difference. Service was good too and loved the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John Woods W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Overpriced, dissapointing food and poor service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The restaurant looks nice, and tries hard to be an upmarket place, but (in my opinion) it fails to achieve it.
The food sounds great on the menu but seems to be dissapointing when it finally arrives. It looks nice but lacks the most inportant thing for me - taste. Everything I've tried seems to be bland and boring.
The pizza I tried this time (Margehrita) was short on cheese, and didn't taste of anything except the bread in the pizza base. It wasn't hot enough either, maybe hadn't been cooked for long enough or the oven wasn't hot enough. If they can't get this most basic pizza right, what hope is there for anythign else? I'd previously tried the mediterranean pizza, and felt the same thing about it, too.
The staff seem more interested in looking pretty and chatting among themselves, than in taking care of the diners. Plates are cleared away too soon (before I had finished!) and the bill took a long time to arrive.
Overall, I was dissapointed by almost everything. I won't bother coming here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GMW1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, ON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Spot - Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Cavallo Nero offer really good value and consistent food. We have been 4-5 times in the last 30 days and every time the food is good, the beer is cold and the wine is appropriately priced. Nice offering of fresh bread while you wait, live tunes on a lot of the nights. This is a go to place for us. Nice to have it right in town within walking distance. Try it - you will not be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RJJMBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cavallo Nero also viewed

 
Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Cavallo Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing