We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, comfortable value for money.”
Review of Ridgemoor B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ridgemoor B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Ancaster B&B and Inns
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, clean, comfortable value for money.”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

First of all, Ancaster is a beautifully maintained well-to-do suburb of Hamilton, formerly a small village with a rich history of its own. Ancaster is a quick ten minute drive to downtown Hamilton where we took in the 20th Annual Canadian International Military Tattoo. Ridgemoor B&B is situated not far from the village center by car in a rural setting. The driveway is a charming winding path through sugar bush opening onto a large house with a pond beside it. We stayed in the "Backyard Scene" room which was spacious and comfortable. We had the use of a large private bathroom which was across the hall. Our stay included two nights with a hearty breakfast each morning cooked by our host Bill. It included fresh fruit and yogurt, eggs, bacon toast and coffee. There were copious amounts of pancakes our second morning. lol Our host was friendly and helpful in finding a restaurant to eat supper (we can recommend the Coach and Lantern Pub)and in giving directions for a quick side trip to the Niagara wine making region. We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa_valley_girl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geezer97, innkeeper at Ridgemoor B&B, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thanks for the positive review. The breakfast table conversation was unique to say the least. I think those bulls are getting short changed. The next time you stay be sure to bring the "pipes". The sound would be great echoing across the pond. Cheers, Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
27
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Ridgemoor. It was a few moments drive into Ancaster and we weren't long getting to other attractions in the Hamilton area but it was very quiet and relaxing. Bill was an excellent host and the accomdations were clean and complete. Breakfast was wonderful. We'd stay again without a doubt.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stars4U2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2011

A great B&B with a country flair. The rooms where clean and comfortable.In the morning your host Bill Bell greets you with a warm smile and fresh coffee, then this is followed by an excellent breakfast. Both my wife and I enjoyed our stay in this country retreat.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runninghogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

As someone who works in tourism I think this place is exceptional. Great value for a lovely place with a homey feel and very friendly hosts who are full of useful info.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcguinnessdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This B&B was set in a lovely, off the beaten track location. It had beautiful forest grounds, a maple sugar bush farm and a quaint pond. The room was clean, spacious and charming. The breakfast was a traditional Canadian fare with homemade pancakes, bacon and maple syrup produced from the farm. The male owner (whose name eludes me at this moment) was kind, accommodating of our late arrival, and very informative on the area and places to visit.

The location is not accessible by public transport so you certainly need to have your own form of transport (i.e. vehicle) to get there.

We would definitely go back! And the next time we would make sure to allocate enough time to properly enjoy the surroundings and go for a walk in the woods.

Karla (London, England)

Room Tip: Ask for the room that faces the back (forest view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrickville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I would highly reccomend Ridgemoor to anyone travelling in the Hamilton area. You get a country setting in a beautiful home minutes away from everything by car. The rooms are very well appointed and clean and the stay is very peaceful away from all traffic and noise.
Breakfast is fantastic with homemade syrup! We really enjoyed our stay and will stay here again in the future if travelling that way again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4less_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Bill provided a comfortable place to stay. He cooks a good breakfast and you'll enjoy the maple syrup made on site. I like staying in a quiet place in the forest. Ridgemoor was all that. If you like nature, you'll like it there. Thanks for the good conversations Bill. I chose the back room so I could see a bit of stars at night and the nicely kept grounds in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ancaster
The Barracks Inn
#1 of 2 in Ancaster
85 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Courtyard Hamilton
#6 of 20 in Hamilton
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgemoor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemoor B&B

Property: Ridgemoor B&B
Address: 902 Shaver Rd, Ancaster, Hamilton, Ontario L9G 3K9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Ancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamilton/Ancaster, Ontario Bed and Breakfast. An accommodation that will appeal to the naturalist. Our B&B has some of the most natural woodland views available in the Hamilton area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ridgemoor B&B Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing