We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid sushi”
Review of Makimono

Makimono
Reserve with OpenTable
Makimono is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 223 Restaurants in Ajax
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Solid sushi”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We go because it's close, and fair. Food is good, not great. Value is good, not great.

Service is fast though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toolsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Slow and steady wins the race or does it”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Visited Makimono during the week on a week night. Was seated right away and was asked our drink order. Food was great and came to the table relatively quick. We decided on all we could eat. Menu had a great selection of items to pick from. By the end of dinner and closer to closing time, service became much much slower to the point we waited 15 minutes for the next server to come around and tell us they forgot our order, then another 10 minutes to get our bill. Friendly staff, but slow for the size of the restaurant. Must have maybe 10-15 tables, so you would think servers would be on the ball.
Looking around the restaurant while we waited for our food and then our bill we started picking out the floors around the restaurant that seem like they have never been washed. Now if they are too lazy to move a table to wash, what does the kitchen look like. I don't know if I want to know. I think I will try somewhere else next time

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“ALL YOU CAN EAT FRESHNESS...”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This Japanese restaurant boasts an 'all you can eat' menu for $14.99 at lunch. The sushi is well rolled and the ingredients about as fresh as you can get in Canada. Pretty good actually...There are also 'a la carte' boxed lunches which are a terrific deal. Attractive, well thought out, tasty and freshly prepared for approximately $10.00. I can't honestly say however, that I am overly impressed with their Miso Soup...I have tasted much better. But, all in all, it is a pleasant experience and a good deal all around. Allow yourself extra time however, NOT SLOW but, a little on the forgetful side about bringing things out and refills on tea often have to be requested. Other than that, I return often and I really enjoy their food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Didn't get all the dishes we asked for”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have eaten here a few times and the first few visits were ok. Service was good, and they kept the dishes coming. It is an all you can eat restaurant. The last time, they kept forgetting dishes, some never arrived.even when we asked for them a few times. Serving staff seemed disorganized, tripping over each other but we still couldn't get all the dishes we ordered. The food we did get was ok but nothing was memorable. I probably won't go back.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank heathercheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“All you can eat for one price!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Really like the all you can eat option as Sushi can get really expensive really fast when you go a la carte. Of course you are not getting top of the line fresh seafood flown in from Japan but it is OK. There are also a bunch of non-sushi related items like breaded chicken cutlet if you want to mix it up a little. You fill out the menu and the plates just keep on coming until your table is more than full. Makes you keep eating just so they can clear off the empty plates-but then more arrive. You swear you'll never order as much again but then it happens the next time!
Decent food for a fair price. Will continue to visit every once in a while.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robster071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makimono also viewed

 
Pickering, Ontario
Ajax, Ontario
 

Been to Makimono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing