We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional rude staff and management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Ajax
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ajax
Certificate of Excellence
everywhere
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unprofessional rude staff and management”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Unprofessional staff and management I checked into this property late at night. I was not welcomed as a Hilton Rewards member and front desk staff were unattentive and lacked customer service skills. One hour after I had checked-in I came down to the lobby only to discover the staff having a bash session about guests staying in the hotel. More specifically they were gossiping, making discriminatory comments and laughing about me having just checked-in to the property. This was being discussed openly in the lobby with
another guest. I was appalled as to the maturity level of the staff and informed them that this was also in violation of my rights under The Privacy Act. I asked for my money back and checked-out after only one hour! The following morning I contacted the GM, Jimmy, and he informed me that I was making all this up despite the fact I informed him I had proof of such. He yelled at me repeatedly and told me I was no longer welcome on the property and was not to return. Not to worry...I have no intention of ever returning to a hotel that discriminates against me and violates my rights!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FridaKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khobson, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Ajax, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
The Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Ajax takes pride in our professional staff that goes above and beyond for our guests. We assure you that any talk about any guests at our front desk would be business related and specific to the job at hand. We treat all of our guests fairly and with respect and expect the same in return. Any objection about our hotel is dealt with promptly to resolve the issue and make the guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Any major concerns such as this one are investigated and dealt with appropriately especially if they are unreasonable or fabricated to obtain free items from the hotel. I assure you that we have done our due diligence to address this issue.
Jimmy Chan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    171
    64
    24
    22
See reviews for
153
127
31
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Very nice place to stay. One downfall are the beds. Very firm despite the ability to adjust the comfort level by turning a little dial on the side of the bed. For me and two others traveling with me, the dials did not seem to have any effect on the beds. Was a bit too firm for me. Otherwise a great hotel, friendly staff and decent, but rather expensive breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester,ny
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

-It is located right off the 401
-Has stores, pharmacy and chain resturants near by
-Very Clean
-Polite Staff
-Indoor Hot Tub and Pool
-Looks brand new
-Right across from the convention center

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleliz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Pass, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I have been staying at this hotel off and on for the last year and it has had it's ups and downs but nothing worth talking about until now... During the winter months the hotel can handle the weekend traffic but when they are booked the wait and kitchen staff can not handle the volume.

They were right, they are booked. That means you can not get a knife after waiting for 30 minutes. When you pay $13.00 for a buffet breakfast I would expect some kind of service. They were not prepared in the kitchen (no eggs, no bacon, most of the continental part not restocked). I ended up walking out leaving my eggs and waffle ...on the table because I could not get a knife(someone had taken mone from another table). After asking the waitress helped another table, set up their silverware, bussed another table and never gave me a second look (food was cold so I left). I am a diamond member with Hilton and I expect better service then this. Also, one of the elevators is broken (try to get a lower level floor) and your key card does not work on the outside doors. They know about it but they blame the guy you can't see!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwilson1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khobson, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Ajax, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and to give us the opportunity to review our service with you. We appreciate the feedback and will be discussing with our team how we can better serve our guests during our busy times. I have left a voice message this morning in your room to discuss the issues you encountered so that we can speak personally.

Warmest Regards,

Keri-Ann Hobson
Director of Sales at the Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Ajax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I have to say that my family and I came from a hotel in Toronto Downtown - so approaching this hotel was a little disappointing for them because it's kind of off a highway - but the reason we changed hotels is to be closer to a high school that my son who's school is from New York, NY was playing rugby against - so we chose to stay here. By the time my kids were checked in and comfortable they were thrilled to be here. Not only are the people just unbelievable - the wifi the flat screen TV and the comfort of the rooms were too perfect. The mattress is brand new where you can change the setting if you like it hard or soft. Even the computer chairs were so comfortable that we fought to sit in it at times. Very clean and very nice staff - couldn't ask for more - and the B&B package was well worth it - kids eat free and adults pay 6 bucks if paying package or 12 if buying when arriving to breakfast. Well worth it - great stay!!! Thanks to everyone in this hotel - its run above and beyond and thats what will make this a memorable stay

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amtrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here for our anniversary. The room was clean and comfortable and we had a relaxing time. The only thing I didn't like was paying full price for a room because we couldn't find any deals on Hotwire or anywhere else.

Chris Holt
Durham Region Reviews
DurhamRegionReviews.ca

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

My stay: 3 weeks and a half, including 3 weekends
From monday to friday: nice place to stay, good breakfast, nice staff, room service is great, the north american grill restaurant is correct. If you stay in a room at the opposite side of the highway, it is very quiet during the week.

Weekend: in case of event like hockey tournament, it's a very noisy place to stay: kids running everywhere in the stairs, playing with the elevators (so you can't use them anymore), until 00h30 - 1 am; in the evening you can see people getting drunk, having their discussion in the hall, just in front of your door...

About the rooms: comfortable, you have space, Internet for free is very nice
Lots of amenities

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellendara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajax
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites By Hilton Ajax, Ontario, Canada
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Ajax/toronto on
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Pickering
Comfort Inn Pickering
#1 of 1 in Pickering
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 7 in Whitby
162 reviews
4.1 mi away
Residence Inn Whitby
Residence Inn Whitby
#1 of 7 in Whitby
261 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Ajax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Ajax

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Ajax
Address: 500 Beck Cres, Ajax, Ontario L1Z 1C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ajax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ajax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Ajax 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Ajax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Ajax Hotel Ajax
Hilton Garden Inn Ajax
Hilton Ajax
Ajax Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing