We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay! Louie is an awesome host!”
Review of Auyuittug Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pangnirtung
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auyuittug Lodge
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at the lodge for three nights after having pulked through Auytuittuq National Park from Qikiqtarjuaq as part of an educational expedition. Louie is the absolute best host and a fabulous cook -- I truly have never enjoyed the food better at any hotel around the world. The rooms and the common spaces at the lodge were clean and comfortable, and Louie's service was excellent. He has lots of great stories to share, and goes out of his way to make sure everyone is enjoying their stay at the lodge. My room was newly renovated, was much larger than I expected for a lodge in the far north, and had a bathroom ensuite. I can't say enough good things about my stay here! Thank you, Louie!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

My room was nothing more than 4 walls, a single bed with no frame, exposed light sockets, and a couple pieces of mismatched furniture--of course with no internet. Pretty rough stuff. I spent most of my time in the common lounge ("Louis' Lounge") area where I was able to connect to the wifi and talk amongst the other interesting travelers sharing their stories and experiences. Nothing, however, can begin to describe just how incredible and gracious the host, Louis, is. His food is second to none, and his character and stories made staying here some of the fondest memories I have experienced in my travels. If only I could bring Louis with me every where I visited!

Room Tip: Work to get a room nearest to the Lounge so you are able to connect to the wifi hotspot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradford H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've stayed at the lodge three times now, both before and after Arctic expeditions. If anyone has traveled in the North, you simply will know that it doesn't get any better than Louis and this lodge. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and the food is FANTASTIC! I'm a foodie myself and Louis' food is better than some of the top restaurants in LA, NY, MPLS, or Chicago. He is an amazing cook. Also, his hospitality is what you would want from a person running a lodge like this - Louis is kind, fun, and a real gentlemen. A big thank you to Louis and how he hosted my entire team. I hope he never leaves so I can return time and time again. Thanks Louis!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AaronD550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hotel is dated, but the only option in Pang.

Rooms are small with single beds, but have TVs.

Shared washroom facilities are old and dated even considering this is the remote Arctic, and require significant renovation. No space to store belongings while showering and washroom was very smelly. Bring shower sandals!

Wifi coverage was weak in rooms but great in the lounge.

Dining area also has couches and is a great place to relax, especially with the rooms being small. Meals were excellent - Louis is quite the chef! Free continental breakfast but no hot options available. Shuttle service available.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank PolarBear777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is another good news, bad news reviews. Yes, the good news is Louis, and that is because of his culinary skills are a real treat for Nunavut travelers. Food gets 5 stars. The building is in poor repair, poorly insulated and little to no soundproofing. Although sheets are changed and clean (bare thread and small) towels are provided, nothing else seems to get any cleaning. There has been an attempt at upgrading with some rooms with laminate flooring, the old carpet probably disintegrated it was that bad. Note that outside boots are not allowed inside. Once I forgot my slippers and wore socks. They were stiff with dirt before I made it up the stairs.
There is more than washroom, male and female on each of the two floors, but only 1 shower per each per floor. Good news is that if you are female there is rarely a wait.
As in other Nunavut hotels, you reserve a "bed" and not the room. If there is a demand you may end up sharing. At $230 a night for 1 person, rates are ridiculous. 99% are government/contractor/business patrons and with no other option in Pangnirtung Auyuittug charges the max. The Lodge may be owned by the Co-op, it is run out of Winnipeg. All the Northern Hotel chain is 100% rip off. BUT with no other choices, they rip you off as they have the monopoly. At least for the price they do charge, you would think a few bucks could be put back into the Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Well, this is going to be a "good news, bad news" review.

First the good news: The host / chef / patron / manager / concierge, Mr. Louis Robillard, is wonderful. He is a most gracious man, a wonderful host who truly looks after his guests, and a superb chef. The food coming out of his kitchen is superb. Louis would not be out of place in a 5 star Four Seasons Hotel.

Now the bad news: The anonymous owners of this property ought to be ashamed of themselves. This hotel is owned by Arctic Co-op, which is a 'co-op of co-ops'. There is absolutely nothing co-operative about this organization at all. Unlike most co-op enterprises, which are patronized by the co-op members, none of the guests who stay here are members of the local co-op. Heck, the local co-op members have houses here, they don't need to stay in a hotel.

The prices charged are astronomical (in the order of $230 a night, single), and the rooms are reminiscent of a small town jail. The rooms are absolutely Spartan - no decor, no pictures, NO BATHROOM OR SHOWER OR SINK, nothing except a bed and a folding card table. There is a single toilet and a single shower at the end of the hall that serves all the guests. The light bulb in my room was burned out.

There was a 'no smoking' sign in my room dated 2008 - but the ceiling was tobacco brown, suggesting that the room hasn't been repainted in at least 4 years. The rooms are not carpeted. The building itself is very run down, badly in need of reinvestment. Some windows are broken, and there is graffiti on the main entrance door.

Pangnirtung is far enough north to get 24 hours of daylight during the summer months, but there are no black-out curtains provided in the rooms - just a single thin cotton drape, made of the same material as a tea-towel.

The managers at all levels of this co-op - local, regional, and at the head office in Winnipeg - know that they have a cash cow here, because there is no other hotel in the town. They also know that they don't have to answer to their members for the poor condition of this property, because their members never stay in it. It's a perfect example of socialism at its worst - a 'not for profit' co-op ripping off the visitors who pass through the town.

All we can hope for is that some local business person opens up a privately owned, for profit hotel in this town, and puts this dump out of business. Let's hope that happens soon. Let's also hope that the first item on the business plan for a new hotel in town is to hire Louis to be the General Manager and the host of the new hotel. He is a superb host, and it is only because of his tremendous hospitality skills that this hotel gets any repeat business at all.

Room Tip: They are all identical jail cells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Setting realistic expectations while traveling in the north is critical. So the Auyuittug Lodge is a much different experience than one would encounter in Iqaluit or one of the larger arctic communities. But the experience is well worth it (and the other options when visiting this part of Baffin Island are minimal). Particularly memorable was the food and the friendly banter with the general manager/cook/proprietor (who graciously monitored the status of our departing flight and delivered us to the airport just in time). The rooms themselves are sparse and very basic. The washrooms are down the hall. But everything was very clean and comfortable. After exploring the area, we enjoyed retreating to the upstairs lounge to read and relax (and enjoy whatever left over dessert might be available). I'd have no hesitation returning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnT.D.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auyuittug Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auyuittug Lodge

Address: Pangnirtung, Nunavut, Canada
Location: Canada > Nunavut > Pangnirtung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pangnirtung
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no street address in this small hamlet. telephone is 867-473-8955 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing