We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Cafe On Mackenzie

Cafe On Mackenzie
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Inuvik
Restaurant details
Terrace, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is a little gem of a cafe up above the Arctic Circle. Prices are higher than what you would be used to coming from a bigger centre, but very reasonable for Inuvik. Baked goods made the day before are 50% off and just as delicious. Sometimes limited for milk options for drinks based on what is available in the stores, but that's just another Northern quirk. Staff is always very friendly. I always treat myself to meal here on the weekends!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stopped here twice; the first time was on Easter Monday and the staff was super apologetic because they didn't expect a large crowd on the holiday Monday so didn't open the kitchen. They did have a selection of deserts, soup, and hot and cold beverages though, and I really appreciated their concern. I returned the next day for lunch and was not disappointed. I had a thick egg salad sandwich on whole wheat bread and a bowl of chicken chipotle soup. Fantastic! They even make decent hot chocolate -- which I'm a bit of a diva about, so if I like the hot chocolate that's pretty high praise. The prices aren't even that bad, considering how far north this is. Definitely recommend! I had heard they have an amazing cinnamon bun for breakfast, unfortunately I was not able to confirm it this time around.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yellowknifer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inuvik, Canada
2 reviews
“Best Cafe in Inuvik”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It is predictable, cozy, and fair for what we get otherwise up North. You can get a nice sandwich or soup for a reasonable place. The place is clean and you will see people from inside and outside the town. The prices are higher than what you expect down south but fairly reasonable for what you generally get up North. Good place to meet and eat whether you are with your mate, children, or business partners. Thank God we have this place in Inuvik.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saeed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Try a bananna bread loaf with chocolate chips, divine! Love getting the chili in the winter with a delicious homemade bun. Great atmosphere to relax and have some food or a coffee, quiet enough that I have sat and done some work while there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“a sanctuary in the Arctic”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This café is excellent, our favourite place in Inuvik - a fantastic selection of drinks (orangina, san pelligrino, Perrier) and great coffee - cakes and sandwiches and excellent sausage rolls...feels like you are in a big city coffee shop which believe me is quite an achievement in Inuvik.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teenytroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe On Mackenzie also viewed

Inuvik, Northwest Territories
Inuvik, Northwest Territories
 
Inuvik, Northwest Territories
Inuvik, Northwest Territories
 
Inuvik, Northwest Territories
Inuvik, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Cafe On Mackenzie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing