We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Seafood Chowder”

Charlene's Bayside Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Relaxed diner, family friendly dining with hearty home cooked meals.
Belfast, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Seafood Chowder”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

With seven kinds of fish and shellfish -- and no potatoes or other filler -- Charlene's Seafood Chowder is the best!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zack43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    52
    22
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stouffville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most pleasant experience of our holiday”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I stopped at Charlene's on way to the Cabot Trail and were amazingly surprised to find the best darn Seafood Chowder this side of the Rockies at Charlene's Bayside Restaurant.

Sure wish I could get that recipe for my up and coming dinner party.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Fish Cakes and Beans in The Maritimes!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you really like fish cakes and would like to taste them as they are meant to be, this is the place!
Made to order and served with terrific baked beans and a nice hot tea biscuit. A perfect stop for lunch before/after driving the Cabot Trail or enroute to Sydney.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jameswolfe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and view!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Amazing little cafe restaurant overlooking the bay! A must place to eat! You have to have the fish chowder to start and the bucket of mud to finish! Don't leave the area without coming here for lunch or dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinToronto37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best seafood chowdah, evah!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I've been eating seafood chowder for better than 40 years. Tonight I had the BEST bowl of chowder in my life. Haddock, halibut, clams, shrimp, scallops, cod and lobster. A bowl with homemade bread for $11. Awesome feed! If your ever in Whycocomagh on Cape Breton island, do not pass Charlene's by....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlene's Bayside Cafe also viewed

Whycocomagh, Cape Breton Island
Whycocomagh, Cape Breton Island
 
Whycocomagh, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
Whycocomagh, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Charlene's Bayside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing