We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fair Isle Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Aberdeen Motel(Whycocomagh)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MacNeil House(Baddeck)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Dart Lodge(Baddeck)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hebridean Motel(Port Hood)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
43
33
8
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
33
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolstay there againcape bretondown the roadshower pressurecabot trailview of the lakechowderbeds were comfortabletim hortonslast minutestayed one nightpiesafter a long daynice viewgreat showerstraight line
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 89 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I found the staff very friendly, cheerful and helpful. When I enquired about restaurants I was given several recommendations including one which gave motel clients a 10% discount. The room was clean and comfortable. Great view of the lake. Close to the shops and restaurants of town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairislemotel, Manager at Fair Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Hi Neale, Thanks so much for your review. As much as we love to hear that we are going in the right direction with the quality of our rooms, it's so exciting as a Manager to read a review that starts with our staff being " Very Friendly,Cheerful and Happy :)" I was once informed that every Friend was once a Stranger, and we treat all our guests with that thought in mind. So nice to hear it shows !! We are indeed very close to all the restaurants in Whycocomagh and our view is certainly breathtaking!!!
Thanks so much again for your kind words.
Safe travels,
Christena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This motel, although maybe not a destination in itself, was just what we needed when we got rained out of our campsite while touring the Cabot Trail. Conveniently located and very affordable, it's nothing fancy but the room was clean and the view out front was an added bonus. Although we didn't have time to use the pool, it looked very inviting. We did, however, use the picnic table they have set up in their nice yard to cook our breakfast on the camp stove and enjoy it while looking out over the Bras D'or Lake. The mini-fridge in the room also helped us with the contents of our cooler. The lady at the desk (I assume she's the manager) was extremely friendly and when we left something behind she was more than happy to send it to us. Staying here helped salvage our disappointing camping trip; a very nice experience overall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_Daisy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairislemotel, Manager at Fair Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Hi Guys, glad you enjoyed your stay. The Chickadee Doubles you stayed in are clean, cozy and priced right for campers needing a break from the elements !! However, if fancy is what you desire, should you get the chance to visit us again, I encourage you to stay in either the Morning Dove or even better, our Kingfisher Luxury. Both are beautifully furnished and offer 40" flat screen T.V's as well state of the art Air Conditioning. The Kingfisher has Duvet bedding and the bathroom has a seperate Vanity and Bath. Quite fancy indeed. We have been told time and time again that the pictures online of our rooms do not do them justice, so you must come & see them for yourself ;) I hope the parcel arrived safe and sound!! Enjoy the rest of your summer and look forward to seeing you again !
Christena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Originally being from Cape Breton we have known of the Fair Isle and it's owners for many years but this was our first stay at the Motel and it did live up to our expectations.

Our room was clean and comfortable with king size bed, updated bathroom, small fridge, microwave and 50" flat screen TV. The staff were very friendly and provided excellent cleaning etc. The outdoor pool was busy during the afternoon and early evening hours with childern and adults - we spent five nights and the weather was sunny and warm every day. The view of Whycocomagh Bay from the Motel is great especially in the morning and evening sun.

We choose the room type which includes breakfast - the breakfast is served at a local resturant at no cost with a coupon supplied by the Motel at check-in. The breakfasts were super.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 -11 are on the lower level (upper level is a bit further up the hill and behind the lower level) have the best view of the Bay.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caperOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairislemotel, Manager at Fair Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Hi Folks,
Although I cannot take credit for the spectacular weather you enjoyed, I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here at the Fair Isle. You were also able to take advantage, through our online reservation system, of the free delicious breakfast at Charlene's Restaurant just up the road. I remember one particular morning we met outside just as you were coming back from there and you both commented on how wonderful it was !!! What a great way to start any day :) It's always so nice to come home and visit with Family and Friends, and now you have another place you can call home !!
Thanks so much R & M for taking the time to write such a lovely review!! See you next time:)
Christena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had an amazing time at the Fair Isle! Spent 9 days travelling Cape Breton, the motel is centralized which gives you the opportunity to visit all of Cape Breton and have a home spot to come back to each night. Christina is amazing and very knowledgeable of the local and surrounding areas and where and what to do. The rooms are very clean and reasonably priced. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairislemotel, Manager at Fair Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Hi Kelly,
Thanks so much for the lovely review !! It was so incredible meeting you and the girls and seeing your Mom again after all these years. Knowing you had such a great time on our Island and enjoyed your stay here at the Motel means so much to us. Would love it if you uploaded some of your favorite pictures of your Cape Breton trip on our Facebook page to share with those who have yet to see the beauty of Cape Breton or simply need reminding ;)
Enjoy the rest of your summer !! Hope to see you all again !!
All the best Kelly,
Christena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We spent a night at the Fair Isle Motel during the warm spell this past summer but didn't sleep well because of the noisy air conditioner. Because it was such a hot night we had to run the A/C the whole night or the room temp would go up to 33C.

Otherwise, the check-in was easy, the staff friendly and it was in a good place to start exploring the Cabot trail.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ONomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairislemotel, Manager at Fair Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you had an uncomfortable night due to one of our A/C's. We did in fact have new A/C's installed last year in 6 of our rooms that were recalled within the same month due to coolant issues..They are all working beautifully :) We are continually upgrading the motel to satisfy the needs of our welcomed guests and this spring was no different. We have re-furnished another 6 rooms with All New Beautiful Beds, Dressers, Chairs, Desks, Lighting, Vanity's and Flat Screen T.V's. If you're ever back this way, please stop in and see all we have done !! As it is all done for Valued Guests like you :)
Have a great summer !!
Christena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews