We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of Fair Isle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fair Isle Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whycocomagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This motel, although maybe not a destination in itself, was just what we needed when we got rained out of our campsite while touring the Cabot Trail. Conveniently located and very affordable, it's nothing fancy but the room was clean and the view out front was an added bonus. Although we didn't have time to use the pool, it looked very inviting. We did, however, use the picnic table they have set up in their nice yard to cook our breakfast on the camp stove and enjoy it while looking out over the Bras D'or Lake. The mini-fridge in the room also helped us with the contents of our cooler. The lady at the desk (I assume she's the manager) was extremely friendly and when we left something behind she was more than happy to send it to us. Staying here helped salvage our disappointing camping trip; a very nice experience overall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_Daisy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairislemotel, Manager at Fair Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Hi Guys, glad you enjoyed your stay. The Chickadee Doubles you stayed in are clean, cozy and priced right for campers needing a break from the elements !! However, if fancy is what you desire, should you get the chance to visit us again, I encourage you to stay in either the Morning Dove or even better, our Kingfisher Luxury. Both are beautifully furnished and offer 40" flat screen T.V's as well state of the art Air Conditioning. The Kingfisher has Duvet bedding and the bathroom has a seperate Vanity and Bath. Quite fancy indeed. We have been told time and time again that the pictures online of our rooms do not do them justice, so you must come & see them for yourself ;) I hope the parcel arrived safe and sound!! Enjoy the rest of your summer and look forward to seeing you again !
Christena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Originally being from Cape Breton we have known of the Fair Isle and it's owners for many years but this was our first stay at the Motel and it did live up to our expectations.

Our room was clean and comfortable with king size bed, updated bathroom, small fridge, microwave and 50" flat screen TV. The staff were very friendly and provided excellent cleaning etc. The outdoor pool was busy during the afternoon and early evening hours with childern and adults - we spent five nights and the weather was sunny and warm every day. The view of Whycocomagh Bay from the Motel is great especially in the morning and evening sun.

We choose the room type which includes breakfast - the breakfast is served at a local resturant at no cost with a coupon supplied by the Motel at check-in. The breakfasts were super.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 -11 are on the lower level (upper level is a bit further up the hill and behind the lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caperOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairislemotel, Manager at Fair Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Hi Folks,
Although I cannot take credit for the spectacular weather you enjoyed, I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here at the Fair Isle. You were also able to take advantage, through our online reservation system, of the free delicious breakfast at Charlene's Restaurant just up the road. I remember one particular morning we met outside just as you were coming back from there and you both commented on how wonderful it was !!! What a great way to start any day :) It's always so nice to come home and visit with Family and Friends, and now you have another place you can call home !!
Thanks so much R & M for taking the time to write such a lovely review!! See you next time:)
Christena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had an amazing time at the Fair Isle! Spent 9 days travelling Cape Breton, the motel is centralized which gives you the opportunity to visit all of Cape Breton and have a home spot to come back to each night. Christina is amazing and very knowledgeable of the local and surrounding areas and where and what to do. The rooms are very clean and reasonably priced. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairislemotel, Manager at Fair Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Hi Kelly,
Thanks so much for the lovely review !! It was so incredible meeting you and the girls and seeing your Mom again after all these years. Knowing you had such a great time on our Island and enjoyed your stay here at the Motel means so much to us. Would love it if you uploaded some of your favorite pictures of your Cape Breton trip on our Facebook page to share with those who have yet to see the beauty of Cape Breton or simply need reminding ;)
Enjoy the rest of your summer !! Hope to see you all again !!
All the best Kelly,
Christena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We spent a night at the Fair Isle Motel during the warm spell this past summer but didn't sleep well because of the noisy air conditioner. Because it was such a hot night we had to run the A/C the whole night or the room temp would go up to 33C.

Otherwise, the check-in was easy, the staff friendly and it was in a good place to start exploring the Cabot trail.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ONomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairislemotel, Manager at Fair Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you had an uncomfortable night due to one of our A/C's. We did in fact have new A/C's installed last year in 6 of our rooms that were recalled within the same month due to coolant issues..They are all working beautifully :) We are continually upgrading the motel to satisfy the needs of our welcomed guests and this spring was no different. We have re-furnished another 6 rooms with All New Beautiful Beds, Dressers, Chairs, Desks, Lighting, Vanity's and Flat Screen T.V's. If you're ever back this way, please stop in and see all we have done !! As it is all done for Valued Guests like you :)
Have a great summer !!
Christena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We had changed our plans last minute and decided to stay a night in Whycocomagh. We were able to get a room at the last minute. Check-in went well and we were provided good information on restaurants. The room was just above the check-in but was still pretty quiet. The view of the lake was great looking down the hill. The room was in pretty good shape for a smaller motel. We were able to hook up to the wifi. The outdoor pool was empty and looked inviting but it was getting late and cool so we decided to skip it. We had left our previous lodging because we needed to do laundry and their facilities were broken. The Fair Isle let us use their coin operated machines which was a huge help. All in all we enjoyed our brief stay at the motel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank researchdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairislemotel, Manager at Fair Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We added a trampoline to the playground this year giving young children another option of things to do along with the playground and outdoor pool. As a Mom I also appreciate the use of a laundry room whenever we travel, so thank you for mentioning ours. The Bald Eagles Perch where you stayed does have the best vantage point of the view indeed, and with 3 beds, full kitchen and a T.V in each room, it's the most comfortable for larger groups or families with children. With summer fast approaching I wish you another funfilled season and laughter and safe travels !!
Christena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Hi Christena: Wonderful stay - spotlessly clean room, microwave, fridge, comfortable bed. Perfect spot as a base for the Cabot Trail. Excellent price. Very pleased.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ocean7NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairislemotel, Manager at Fair Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

"WOOHOO" !!! WOW Talk about making someone's day :) !!! Reviews like your's reminds me that all the renovations and upgrades we have made the past 6 years and continue to make, are working !! Our Goal is to ensure all our Guests stay is as wonderful as yours :)
Thanks so much, Have a great summer!!
Safe Travels,
Christena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Me, my hubby and daughter spent a night there and it's a perfect stop while on the Cabot Trail. Very clean and the owner is very nice and will go out of her way to make your stay pleasant.
Thank you!

Sheila

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballietm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairislemotel, Manager at Fair Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

AWESOME !!! LOVE to hear you had a GREAT stay !!! We added a Trampoline this year as another fun activity along with the playground and pool. So Happy to know you had a great start to your trip on Cape Breton !!
Thanks so much for sharing :)
Have a great summer !
Safe travels,
Christena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whycocomagh
24.7 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
167 reviews
18.9 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
674 reviews
14.0 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Aberdeen Motel
Aberdeen Motel
#2 of 2 in Whycocomagh
67 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hebridean Motel
Hebridean Motel
#1 of 1 in Port Hood
43 reviews
31.5 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Isle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Isle Motel

Address: 9557 Highway 105, Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia B0E 3M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Whycocomagh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whycocomagh
Price Range: $59 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fair Isle Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fair Isle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Isle Motel Whycocomagh, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing