We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear on the Lake Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My stay trully felt like being on a holiday. Bear on the Lake is in a relaxing spot overlooking the lovely Bras D'Or lakes. I loved the company of the other guests, it felt like we were all family. The hostel has all the facilities you need and a great kitchen for cooking meals. Everyone gathers around the dining table in the evenings and fun conversations are guaranteed. Carman is a great host and very knowledgeable on the area's attractions. The place is a gem!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 157 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Carman is a great host. He has his own way of making people feel welcome and special. The hostel is super clean and although I have shared a room with other girls, I slept like a bear. There are great hikes close to the hostel...but the most surprising of all is the water!! all comes from springs. So my skin felt super, my hair felt super, my cells were so grateful for such a nurturing moment. Oh yes, I will be back! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estelalutero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I literally have zero complaints about this amazing hostel. The whole house is sparkling clean and Carmen, the owner/manager, is about the nicest guy you will ever meet. I actually cut my trip short in Halifax to come back here!
The rooms are all very nice, with large communal areas for everyone! I stayed in a shared and a private and really liked them both. If you can afford it, I would really reccommend going for at least one night in the private rooms! There is a nice lounge area just in front of the two. The view from the hostel looks over the lake and has a firepit on location for you to use. I could not have been happier and would definitely return!

Thanks Carmen for the excellent stay!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A great hostel with a beautiful view of Bras d'or lake from the living room. It was clean and very cozy. There are a few beautiful hikes around the hostel and it's a good location to start the cabot trail. Carman is a great host, who made me feel right at home. He is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florence-Floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

After driving through the Cabot Trail counterclockwise, arriving at Bear on the Lake in Aberdeen we found a very welcoming and friendly place to stay for a night. Everybody staying at the hostel made the place comfortable. Carmen, our host made us feel right at home. The front view from the living room is amazing, looking out to Bras d'Or lake. Thanks for an awesome stay, Carmen!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvangorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stumbled upon this place almost unintentionally - heard about it from a friend but weren't planning on staying until the last minute. Boy am I glad we did!! The view of the lake is gorgeous, not to mention the house itself. Probably THE nicest hostel I've ever stayed in - leather furniture, nice picture frames on the walls, big kitchen, patio and yard with nightly bonfires. Our private room upstairs had our own private living room (also with a view) and bathroom (I'm unclear on whether we would have shared these facilities if the other upstairs room was occupied, but regardless, it was lovely). Carman was lovely and helpful, so friendly and excited to have us there. We brought our 10 month old daughter with us, and he was nothing but happy to have her. Can't wait to visit again :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecilia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for one night as part of a weekend motorcycle trip around the Cabot Trail. I choose to take one of the private rooms as I was planning an early escape and did not want to disturb anyone. Carman is a great host and very friendly. He certainly should be proud of his establishment. Everyone I met was super friendly and seemed to be enjoying their time on the Island. The location is good if you are planning to tour the Island as it is central to most anything.

I can only give this an average rating because there was several small items throughout that needed attention from a maintenance point of view and for me were rather annoying. Also due to the intense amount of black flies and mosquitoes you could not sit outside for fear of being eaten alive, but this of course is out of our hosts hands. The additional cost of the private room I considered rather steep considering what I got for it, $20 cheaper and it would be an ok deal, I think I would stay in a regular motel/hotel next time.

Bear on the Lake is best suited for someone who wishes to stay longer term while seeing the Island and save money while doing so. There is a full kitchen available with a fridge for use and a bbq outside for cooking up meals. The downstairs family room / eating area is kept clean and has nice big windows that look out over the lake. There is free wifi and phone to make local calls. There is lots of parking but be aware that the driveway and parking area is loose gravel that is all sloped and can be tricky for motorcycle parking or turning around.

As I did not sleep or see the dorm sleeping area I cannot speak of it. I am not sure if the house has a/c.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FergusRob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whycocomagh hotels
3.2 mi away
Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge
Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge
#1 of 3 in Whycocomagh
69 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aberdeen Motel
Aberdeen Motel
#2 of 2 in Whycocomagh
67 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fair Isle Motel
Fair Isle Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear on the Lake Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear on the Lake Guesthouse

Address: 10705 Highway 105 | Aberdeen, Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia B0E 3M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Whycocomagh
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Whycocomagh
Price Range: $25 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear on the Lake Guesthouse overlooks the beautiful Bras D'or Lakes of Cape Breton Island at the start of the Cabot Trail. We're centrally located and within an hour to all of Cape Breton's highlights such as the Cabot Trail, Highlands National Park, Louisbourg Historic Site Newfoundland Ferry and just down the road from world class hiking, whale watching, kayaking, sailing and museums. We have both dormitory-style and private accommodations and all guests are welcome to use our kitchen, campfire pit, free wi-fi, hammocks, board games and more! Watch the eagles overhead and the moose in the backyard! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bear on the Lake Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear On The Lake Guesthouse Whycocomagh, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing