We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bear on Lake Gueasthouse is worth every penny!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear on the Lake Guesthouse
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bear on Lake Gueasthouse is worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the cleanest hostel I think I have ever stayed at. Carmen, the owner, greets you with a super friendly welcome and holds a wealth of knowledge about the island. Bear on lake is the perfect place to both start and finish the Cabot Trail. We had a great time on Cape Breton!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBuho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
31
61
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed three nights at the Bear on the Lake to explore Cape Breton and the Cabot Trail. As I didn't have an own car, I was afraid that the location would not be so good for exploring the trail. However, I really enjoyed my stay and would go back any time. It is in such a nice spot, has a very a relaxing atmosphere and the the people were just great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have three boys and food costs a lot when you're traveling. Bear on the Lake gave me what I was looking for, a place where I could save money and cook our meals but not spend 200$ a night on accomadation and renting a cottage. It also gave us a central location. You can reach the both Louisbourg and Pleasant bay in about two hours. We also had lots of space. Carmen suggested we rent out the upstairs which has two double rooms, a sitting room and a private bathroom. It was perfect. The front lawn and sports equipment he supplied was great it gave the boys a place to play while we had dinner. The Guesthouse is incredibly clean and Carmen the owner was extremly helpful and runa great place. I would highly recommend this guesthouse to other families. It's quiet and friendly and the other guests were very welcoming of our boys. Thanks for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkrh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed at Bear on the Lake for a total of 6 nights. My main purpose for visiting Cape Breton was to attend a summer course at the Gaelic College, and I decided to tack on a few extra days to allow some exploring.

The guesthouse is conveniently located between Baddeck and Whycocomaugh, which makes it a great jumping off point for exploring the rest of the island on day trips. The house is located on a hill overlooking the Bras d'Or lake, and the view is tremendous. The house itself is immaculate - Carman does a great job in ensuring that it stays clean. There are 3 dorm rooms on the main level, one with ensuite. There was more space both upstairs and down, but I didn't see these spaces myself. There's a good-sized kitchen and lots of utensils available for preparing meals, and guests can store food in the large refrigerator and pantry.

Carman's place attracts an international clientele, with folks from all over the world staying there. There's a spacious deck for hanging out, along with a large lounge area and computer "office" space, with plenty of sofas. Board games are cleverly stored in an old stove. The dining table can easily seat between 12-16, encouraging socializing. Free WiFi is available, and the signal is strong.

My dorm room was reasonably spacious, with one twin bed and 2 bunkbeds. Linens are provided, towels can be rented for $1. The mattress was a bit more firm than I normally like, but this is a minor detail. Laundry facilities are available for a small fee, and you can save a bit of money by bringing your own detergent and hanging your wash on the line to dry.

Overall, this was a lovely, relaxing place to stay, and I'll definitely stay here again if the opportunity arises! Thanks, Carman!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PricklyThistle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I very much enjoyed my stay at Bear on the Lake. It’s a perfect location for exploring the Cabot Trail. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the view is spectacular and the place has a very homey feel. Having coffee made for me in the morning was a real treat! The hospitality was exceptional,,,,hopefully I am able to return someday. Oh and it is a great place for kids!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 301Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monheim, Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

In all my 11 months of travelling, this was one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed - nice rooms, everything clean, nice and helpful staff, great view...
Carmen, thank you very much for your help. You are really a nice host.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I spent two nights here, and the only thing that forced me to leave is time.Very spacious and comfortable, this lovely Hostel has a good staff, very frendly, and all the necessary facilities. I took a solo room, very clean with a large window, at second stage, with large view on the lake. I just felt in love with Cape-Breton, and I wish to return there as soon as possible, staying at The Bear on the Lake, for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleepyMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whycocomagh
7.3 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
9.3 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aberdeen Motel
Aberdeen Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
8.2 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear on the Lake Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear on the Lake Guesthouse

Property: Bear on the Lake Guesthouse
Address: 10705 Highway 105 | Aberdeen, Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia B0E 3M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Whycocomagh
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Whycocomagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear on the Lake Guesthouse overlooks the beautiful Bras D'or Lakes of Cape Breton Island at the start of the Cabot Trail. We're centrally located and within an hour to all of Cape Breton's highlights such as the Cabot Trail, Highlands National Park, Louisbourg Historic Site Newfoundland Ferry and just down the road from world class hiking, whale watching, kayaking, sailing and museums. We have both dormitory-style and private accommodations and all guests are welcome to use our kitchen, campfire pit, free wi-fi, hammocks, board games and more! Watch the eagles overhead and the moose in the backyard! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bear on the Lake Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear On The Lake Guesthouse Whycocomagh, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing