We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rum Runner Inn(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Homeport Motel(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
$99
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topmast Motel(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages(Lunenburg)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse Motel(Bridgewater)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveler rating
135
148
107
50
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
148
107
50
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfdining roommahone bayhot tuboutdoor pooloak island resortfire pitfireside loungemarch breakbreakfast buffetmurder mysterythe main hotelnova scotialive entertainmentseafood chowdergreat weekendview of the ocean
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 457 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

We just visited Oak Island Inn & had a wonderful family holiday. There were fun activities for the boys such as mini putting, smores at night, an indoor and outdoor pool and pirate treasure hunt. Very relaxing & highly recommend it for a family get away.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, General Manager at Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Thank you Michelle J for your review. Glad to hear it was a great family getaway!
Cheers
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017

Beautiful location, room was ok, nothing special. Bathroom was very small. I have never heard a bathroom fan as noisy as this one was! Only electrical outlet meant cord for hair styling appliances crossed over toilet to the counter which was VERY small. There also was not a towel rack to hang a hand towel. Beds and pillows were good. A lack of lighting made the room dark.Hallway was very noisy at about 5:30 - 6:00 am, not the hotel's fault.
Dinner menu was limited in the restaurant, but the roast chicken was delicious. Entertainment in the lounge / bar area was great although the layout of the room could be improved.
Front desk staff were friendly but almost too efficient. They did not provide any info on activities (we overheard about them in the dining room) nor directions around the hotel for pool, dining, etc.

Room Tip: Upper floor on water side. Unfortunately, we had ground floor with a view of the parking lot....lol
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mainlandcaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corsonsgal, General Manager at Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Thank you for your feedback mainlandcaper! We hope overall it was an enjoyable stay
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017

The staff acts like this is a 5 star place, but it is only 3 and staff gets a 2. About 1/3 of the rooms require hauling suit cases up/down a flight of stairs. Half of the room have no view of the water. The rooms have been updated but it was done on the cheap. Parking is laid out to require most guests to walk quite a way. IF you make your reservation on the internet you will not get the free buffet breakfast. The buffet breakfast is poor - not worth the $14 they charge.

Room Tip: You need to request a room with a view if you want one. And request "no stairs" if they are a problem.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 10,234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, General Manager at Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

10234, Please accept our sincere apologies for the displeasure you may have experienced in respect to your recent stay. We take pride in ensuring our customer's satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your, or our own, expectations.

I am investigating the challenges you experience. We appreciate getting feedback as we can only correct items if we are aware of them.
Thank you again for your feedback and your business
Sincerely Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017

it was average if you like stained carpet and a dated interior....found some of the staff very friendly....others like the desk staff not so much...when i required about he pool i was told it was 'private' for members only...didn't understand that and when pressed didn't get a explanation .....food was average, the view great.....it needs much TLC to make it deserving of there overpriced rates....would i stay again...nope

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, General Manager at Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Deb S, I am terribly sorry as I am not sure who would say the pool was for private members. We do limit the local passes to 100 a month so not to overcrowd the facilities for our paying guests. We appreciate your comments about the employees who work tirelessly to make our guests stay memorable.
Sincerely
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

Stayed two nights while attending a wedding party in Chester. We got a "group rate" which turned out to be not as good as we could have booked on hotels.com for, it looks like, but that's our fault for not realizing.

The Atlantica Oak Island Resort, first off, isn't on the Island, in case you thought it was! It's an older property that was purchased by the Halifax-based IMP Group and extensively refurbished about a decade ago. The room we had looked a little bit due for a little refreshing, but it was clean and comfortable.

The staff are friendly to a fault, and the attached restaurant is excellent, which is great as options in the area are pretty limited.

While we didn't have time to indulge in them, there are a lot of activities for guests during the day, a spa, and paddleboard and boat rentals among the options.

Room Tip: Note that rooms may seem a little small compared to more modern hotels.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, General Manager at Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

We thank you for your review NickB488
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews