We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Wedding Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Western Shore
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Perfect Wedding Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just returned from our daughter's wedding, held on December 29th. The staff could not have been more attentive and helpful-particularly Gavin and his fantastic staff. Also the maintenance people went above and beyond to restore water to our villa, in the snow, and at night, no less.
We stayed in Villa #9 and the views were just fantastic! We used the villa for the bride and bridesmaids to get ready and it worked out perfectly. We also made use of the spa while there.
The staff is what makes this a special place.

Room Tip: It is worth the additional price to get an ocenview room. For a family, the villas are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christyjmccormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    125
    79
    42
    15
See reviews for
109
142
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We went to this property for a weekend trip with family and our two young kids in November 2013.

The positives included family-friendly facilities: The room was a standard hotel room, but had a small fridge which was very helpful, and staff brought a portable crib for our youngest child. The pool includes a separate shallow area for the little kids and life vests in all sizes can be used. The hot tub has a lovely bright view. The grounds include a small playground and ponds/ trails to explore.

The negative was the restaurant. Despite a great kiddie menu (and kids free when eating with adult hotel guests, a great deal), indicating this is a place where children will be attended to, the kitchen was unbelievable slow both nights of our stay. Our little children waited 1.5 hours for their food-- while we distracted them with various degrees of success with toys books, walks around, etc. It was quite stressful and no information was available about the reason or length of the delays (wait staff trying very hard but very few of them). The food for grown-ups was pricey and poorly done-- cold pasta, stringy shrimp, very few fresh or vegetarian options.

Room Tip: Ocean side is worth the extra money, away from doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DGHFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I meant to write this review a long time but forgot. We went to Oak Island in July of 2013 and had a great time. It is pet friendley so we brought our dog who also enjoyed the trip away. Check in and out were painless and staff were very friendley. Our room was roomey and clean and the maid kept it clean while we were there, the beds were very comfy I could have stayed in bed all day! We received vouchers for breakfast buffet which was fantastic! The waffles with whipped cream and berries were amazing! The communtiy of Chester was charming with lots to look at, see and do. We took a drive to a little island called Graves island which has walking trails, camping and a beach, also nice, we took the dog for a walk and swim. I really enjoyed my stay although there could be more to do, the mini putt was not in good shape at all, the horse shoes were ok but we were eaten by bugs and we sprayed down with bug spary before we started to play. It just felt like something was missing, maybe they need more to do with the water....like paddle boats or even boat tours....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanttobewarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Last weekend, my fiance and I went to Oak Island for a romantic getaway to celebrate our new engagement. We were given a room at the end of the hallway the was beside a loud exterior door that all guests and maintenance people could access; therefore, bright and early the next morning (6:50am) we began hearing the door slam about every 10-15 mins. It was impossible to sleep in and we did not get to enjoy a peaceful morning. We went to the restaurant for breakfast and came in following a large group. The servers seemed very flustered and disorganized. We opted for the buffet to try and speed up the process but much of the food was cold. This was a let down for our romantic getaway to say the least.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KDD902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Western Shore hotels

Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed at Atlantica, Western Shore on Sunday and Monday of this past week. The room was a bit outdated, the television was an older tube style, and the reception was fuzzy on most channels. The bed was also a bit older, and was considerably less comfortable then other hotels I've stayed in.

Granted it was off-season, but the hotel bar closed at 9pm... and after that only a vending machine was available for water, beverages, or snacks.

All in all the staff at this hotel were okay, but nobody really went out of their way to wow any of the guests in my party.

The views from the hotel in the summer I am sure would be excellent, unfortunately for us the weather wasn't co-operating for us to look-out anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a small wedding at Atlantic hotel in October of this year. When we first met the planner it all sounded perfect! Small no hassle wedding is exactly what we wanted. The planner told us she would be there on the day of the wedding to organize everything and tell us what to do. The wedding was at 4 and at 3:50 I went to check out the set up and they had cheap, plastic patio chairs set up on the balcony with an old, wooden banquet style signing table setup with a stained, white table cloth to cover it. I told the guy that put out the chairs that we were told we would have nice chairs with a white slip over them. He scrambled to get them together which we did appreciate. I asked where the planner was and she was not even working that day! My wife was standing outside waiting for someone to direct her where to go and what to do and there was nobody there. Eventually she just decided to walk out with her dad and get things started. During the days leading up to the wedding the planner started sending us invoices for things we were told were included in the price. We sent the original e-mails we received and got that straightened out eventually. The day before the wedding we received a message from the planner with a menu for the dinner. It was a modified menu from what we originally received. We were told we would be ordering from their regular dinner menu which was great! The menu we received the day before the wedding had 5 things on it, none of which we liked nor would anyone else in our family. We did eventually get that straightened away as well. The breakfast on the day after our wedding was included in the price. While at breakfast, the waitress approached one of our tables with a bill for breakfast. I explained to her that theirs was included in the price we paid for the wedding. Everyone received tickets for the breakfast except for them. After some debate with the manager they finally agreed that the breakfast was in fact included in the price. On the day of our checkout, we paid our final balance with our credit card at the front desk. Two weeks later I noticed $200 missing from my credit card. I called them to ask why as we did not get anything extra. I unfortunately cannot get anyone their to explain why it was taken from my credit card 2 weeks later. I have yet to hear back from anyone to explain the missing $200.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nkj29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corsonsgal, General Manager at Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the displeasure you may have experienced in respect to the customer service during your recent stay. We take pride in ensuring our customer's satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your, or our own, expectations.

I have asked the Catering Manager as well as the Rooms Division Manger to follow up with you on some of the concerns you had during this event.

Again, please accept my sincere apologies as this is very much not typical of our service level. I too will investigate on what happened during this event
Sincerely
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

In May 2013, my family spent the weekend at Atlantica Hotel and it was quite an enjoyable time. I have a 4 month old, and 3 year old so I was quite nervous that this trip might be a disaster travelling with 2 small children. However, it was definitely one of the best family weekends we have ever had. We checked in on Saturday afternoon and the staff was over accommodating and were so patient with my 3 year old. They kept her entertained and made sure that she was excited for all of the activities that Atlantica was going to provide her for the weekend. Our room was a Junior suite with a pull out couch, fridge, microwave and great patio. There was a list of children's activities over the weekend that my daughter was very excited to attend. (Kool Aid adventure, night time stories and activities). The following morning we had breakfast in the restaurant and again I can't compliment the staff for their friendliness and patience dealing with our children and other children at such a busy time. The breakfast was great and enjoyed by all. My husband and I are both runners and we like to adventure out and explore when we travel. We were very excited to hear that across the street from Atlantica Hotel is one of the most scenic and best running trails. It is the old Railway track in Chester and is beautiful, well groomed and very accessible. It definitely is one of the best kept secrets in NS. The Atlantica Hotel has great amenities from the pool, playground on site and the beautiful beach. This is a great family getaway place and we are very excited to go back in November. I would defiantly recommend this resort to everyone. We now consider Atlantica our great Getaway from the city that has everything to offer for our family from children's activities to the best running trails!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmack325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Western Shore
9.9 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
9.9 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bridgewater Hotel & Convention Centre
18.3 mi away
Oceanstone Resort
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 2 in Indian Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#3 of 6 in Mahone Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre

Property: Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Address: 36 Treasure Drive, Western Shore, Nova Scotia B0J 3M0, Canada (Formerly Atlantica Hotel & Marina Oak Island)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Western Shore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Western Shore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Hotel And Marina Oak Island
Oak Island Resort
Oak Island Hotel
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre Nova Scotia/Western Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing