We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I had rated this hotel every time I'd been, it would get 'Excellent' every time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Western Shore
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“If I had rated this hotel every time I'd been, it would get 'Excellent' every time”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have lost count of how many times I have been to this hotel. The first time I visited, it took no time at all to decide to book it for my wedding. Since then, we have stayed as tourists, as people planning a wedding, as a bride & groom celebrating their wedding, and as a husband and wife not only wanting to reminisce about their special day but also enjoy some relaxation and luxury on the South Shore. In the past 2 years, we have probably interacted with every single staff member and experienced everything this hotel has to offer. I was actually surprised that not every review up till now has been 'Excellent'. For me, highlights include:

a) Location. Perfectly located between Chester and Mahone Bay, with easy daytrips to Lunenburg or back into Halifax.

b) Comfort. Rooms are quiet and well equipped. Beds are some of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Air conditioning is completely controllable and responsive.

c) Views. The oceanside views look out over the marina and Oak Island and the bay. Even the landside views are pretty. And if you are staying in one of the oceanfront cottages, the views can't be beat.

d) Food. The chef has changed a couple of times since we first started going, but no matter who the chef, the menu was always first class. A lot of care has gone into preparing the menu but also every plate. Ingredients are fresh, portions are substantial, and everything is cooked to perfection. Light menu always available in the bar, but you can also order from that menu within the main restaurant. Often the room rates will include breakfast buffet - which is well worth it!

e) Entertainment. The Fireside Lounge is a beautiful place to relax over a drink, and many nights there is live entertainment.

f) Games. There are plenty of lawn games available from the front desk to use and also there is playground equipment, tennis courts, basketball courts, mini golf, horseshoes, and more.

g) Pools. An outdoor pool - with a new outdoor bar - plus an indoor pool with hot tub. All maintained well, and never too busy.

h) Gym and sauna. The most well-equipped and maintained 'hotel gym' I have ever seen!

i) Spa. I have had hair done, makeup done, manicure and pedicure. On both a 'normal day' and a wedding day. The girls in the spa are very friendly and very good at their job. A nice treat.

j) Walking trails. The grounds are extensive. It is lovely to be able to walk out to the breakwater, around a pond, through wilderness trails, along the rocky beach...

k) Conference rooms. There are lots of options for room sizes and configurations, not only when planning a wedding, but also a family event, or a business conference. The staff they have to help you plan events like this are second to none.

l) Value for money. Rates are really good. Even if you don't catch a seasonal deal (which they often advertise on their website) or have a CAA card (which gives an instant 10% discount), staying at the hotel provides you so much more than just a bed. Definite value for money.

m) The cottages. If you have a couple of people to share with, the cottages cost the same as having two hotel rooms. Right on the water, nice and private, with adirondack chairs to relax in, picnic tables to eat at, lawns to play on, firepits to sit around, BBQs to prepare meals on. Plus you still have all the amenities of the hotel just a short stroll away.

I could probably write on and on. If you have read this far, thanks! And if you'd like to know anything more, feel free to send me a message!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    129
    83
    43
    16
See reviews for
112
149
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
near NYC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Starting with the positives...excellent mattresses, very friendly staff, kid friendly-ish facility (lots to do) and a great breakfast buffet and value that was included in the extremely reasonable price. Now the negatives and wow! The actual facility needs a complete rework- halls are dark and dingy with hideous and low dropped ceilings (dorm?), the rooms are so tiny and cramped with completely outdated furnishings and decor...when our daughter opened the entertainment center she said, "Look at the round TV!" The bathroom was the size of our home powder room with the addition of a tub but featured a cheap vinyl tub surround complemented by a cultured marble sink vanity. No shelves or areas for toiletries and no hooks or bars for wet towels although there was an earnest request to be environmentally aware and hang bath towels (4 in our case) for reuse. Sure! Where? It was so strange to be at an obvious family-oriented facility promoting longer stays but without any consideration of the luggage and toiletry storage needs that families have. We did eat one dinner in their fine dining restaurant...outside on the very sad and neglected upper patio. Very limited wine menu, untrained wine staff (although super friendly) at a whopping $9 a glass. No table setting or mats of any type and the entrees ran about $23+. Price of a resort with the ambiance and presentation of something far below fancy. The food was ok but nothing to match the prices. To compare, our farm to fork dinner in Lunenberg at the Rum Runner was unique, impressive, and the tab was about 20% less including the same wine. As there are few options for families near Mahone Bay, the Atlantica Is a good value as long as expectations are in line. The gym is huge (old style tv not working), tennis with free raquets available, putt putt golf course cute but could be so awesome, firepits are nice, both pools are busy (but if you look at the ceiling- well don't!) with frequent towel refills from staff, breakfast and coffee excellent. A room overhaul (hide the cinderblock walls!) including outlets that work and mire efficient use of storage space (room and washroom) would make the hotel extremely attractive for longer stays and families that want to hang out and relax (PS no bicycle rentals any more as advertised on their web site--a big bummer!)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank married2agreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I traveled to this hotel with our two year old in August 2013. We really enjoyed our stay, with only a couple of small complaints.

When we checked in we were given a room on the first floor. The room smelled musty and as asked to change rooms. Although we were initially told they were booked solid and we couldn't change, a supervisor came to our door five minutes later to take us to another room (she said they'd just had a cancellation). We were moved to the third floor and the room was great. It had water views and, although we didn't have a balcony like many of the rooms have, we don't think we really needed one.

Our son loved playing in the outside pool, which has a tiki bar conveniently located beside it to get drinks, hamburgers, etc.

Our worst experience was trying to order some food around 3pm on a Saturday afternoon. The dining room of the La Vista restaurant was closed but we were told we could sit outside on the patio and order from the La Vista menu. We waited 35 minutes for the server to come over, then waited another 35 minutes for our food (which were only appetizers and a kids meal). The service was terrible!

On a positive note, the beds were awesome! So comfortable! And the little shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom are Aveda brand, great quality!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMR123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in room 301 for 2 nights on our way to Antigonish. View of water/pool was nice. Room was average, bathroom way too small. Food in restaurent very good but pricey. Take the time to drive to Chester, Mahone Bay and Lunenberg. Ate in Mahone Bay at The Mug and Anchor. Beautiful view, really good food and good prices. If staying on weekend make sure you are not close to the lounge. We stayed Friday/Saturday and the live music was clearly heard in our room until midnight. Not the best if you want to get to bed early. Was hoping to try the burger shack but it never happened. It closed at 5 both nights which was too bad, would have been more than happy to have a burger around 7 at night and not have to leave the property.All in all, pretty decent place. Wedding was going on so they had all the chalets booked but would stay here again, perhaps in a different room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Soccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Good & needs improvement here!! Good location but most areas need updating. Most service was excellent but when we checked out the staff on the desk were having a dispute about settling bills(which could have been done privately).
Wine list was so over priced!! Halifax prices much cheaper!!
Spa prices were quite expensive.
Restaurant food very average and room average. Great location with lots of potential-think it will improve under new ownership.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleinHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had not booked any accommodations while travelling through the Western Shore of NS and unfortunately, found ourselves in the midst of a Regatta with very few accommodations available that would provide for us and our golden retriever. However, this resort was very accommodating offering a free breakfast for 2, no extra cost for our dog ( which is totally unheard of nowadays ) and a decreased rate for our room. Our room was on the ground level & in spite of being pet friendly everything was extremely clean. Our room was very spacious with all the amenities, air conditioner worked great (we actually had to turn it off), view from our patio doors was exceptional ( looked right out into the marina area & across the bay). One of the previous reviews mentioned it was on the beach... I thought we had seen the entire area around the hotel and I don't recall any beach. The hotel is located on Mahone Bay & there were lovely grounds & walking areas around the Bay & hotel which was great for our retriever. There was also a swimming pool indoors and outdoors that were both sufficient. As for coffee before 7, there is a coffee machine in the room with all the fixings! The nightly entertainment in the lounge was very good. Front desk staff friendly as well as the staff in the restaurant. The restaurant is so nice and bright with all the large windows and provides a wonderful view of the Bay. Our meals were delicious! Upon leaving I asked my husband to drive around the back of the house and we could load our truck from there - I felt a testiment to the Inn for making us feel so "at home!"

Room Tip: Great area for pets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I've been to this resort a few times, most recently last week! My friend and her son came along with my daughter and I. From previous experiences, I decided to book a chalet. They are spacious, clean, near the water and have amenities including a BBQ $ fire pit. I feel they are worth the extra money. We had a wonderful time. Kids eat free deal and free breakfast make it a cost effective option.
This was my second trip there this year and probably my 6th overall visit. The grounds are beautiful. I especial enjoyed the addition of 'burgers & brews'. Makes it seem more like a resort! The guy that runs that had a great personality and offered wonderful customer service. Awesome staff all around. We will be back again & again :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Western Shore
10.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
294 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
231 reviews
10.0 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bridgewater Hotel & Convention Centre
18.3 mi away
Oceanstone Resort
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 2 in Indian Harbour
167 reviews
10.7 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre

Property: Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Address: 36 Treasure Drive, Western Shore, Nova Scotia B0J 3M0, Canada (Formerly Atlantica Hotel & Marina Oak Island)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Western Shore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Western Shore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Hotel And Marina Oak Island
Oak Island Resort
Oak Island Hotel
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre Nova Scotia/Western Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing