We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Western Shore
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location is Amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We were exhausted and needed a place to stay. We found this place and they had an opening. The location is amazing. It's located on the beach And the ocean view is gorgeous and very relaxing.
The room was not comfortable. It wasn't that clean and the air conditioner did not cool. The next morning the people who worked there wouldn't give us a cup of coffee before 7. They did not go out of their way to do anything for us. Of all the places we stayed on Nova Scotia, this was our least favorite.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hchilek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corsonsgal, General Manager at Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your insight. I have forwarded your information to our housekeeping manager as well as our outlet manager. Both concerns you had, are very unusual for our property. But thank you for informing us so we can ensure this does not happen again for another guests
Sincerely
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    126
    80
    42
    16
See reviews for
110
143
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with a group. I was very pleased with my room it was large an spacious. Staff were always courteous and friendly.

While my room overlooked the bay I was also overlooking to roof of the pool area, not the greatest; but i was not spending much time in the room anyway.

The hotel was much larger than I thought it would be.

We ate at La vista restaurant a few times and the food was good. I felt the breakfast was a little bland; however they had a fabulous selection.

My only pet peeve, and it is a minor one, was all the speed bumps! Every 20 feet there was a speed bump...rather annoying, but that was a minor problem from what I felt was an otherwise great property.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conception Bay South, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I spent the first night in the Hotel. The room was average, comfortable, and clean.The next 3 nights were spent in the chalets. The view of Oak Island was beautiful. Fire pits, firewood, and Adirondack chairs are provided which makes enjoying the open view of the bay very easy. The chalets were comfortable, but in need of some TLC. The decks and chalets appeared unpainted and were covered in patches of Lichen. Some rot was apparent on the doors, windows and eaves of many of the chalets. This rot made opening and closing the door of our chalet difficult. Each chalet featured a one-piece kitchenette. Our kitchenette fridge didn't work and had an unpleasant odour but a small additional fridge had been provided. It appeared as though other Chalets had received upgrades including new paint, appliances, and cabinets. 8 chalets were occupied by our party. Ants and earwigs were present in each (including refurbished chalets). Note: Chalets 4&5 share a large open living area separated by a retractable divider. Great for close families, but when closed for two-cabin rental the divider lacks the privacy you would expect of a private chalet. The resort is pet friendly and except for an occasional off-the-leash dog the presence of pets was unnoticed. We received very friendly service from the clerks, restaurant staff, and housekeeping!

I would readily recommend the hotel portion of this resort. The chalets are overpriced for the quality of the accommodations currently provided. Overall, the resort provides a great family getaway! Grade B+

Room Tip: Hotel has A/C, the chalets do not. Avoid Chalets 3&4 unless you're looking for adjoining cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corsonsgal, General Manager at Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our employees. They work very hard to ensure great service to our guests and it is always great when they are recognized.

I am pleased to say that we are finishing some chalets upgrades in 2014 that we indeed did start this past year. As you imagine, this upkeep is very time consuming. We did the most important items with the time allotted and will finish for next season.

Thank you for your comments
Sincerely
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

As usual, the services were great! That’s why we keep coming back, everyone loved the accommodations, grounds and meeting space! No complaints about the food either, no matter what the dietary needs, you make everyone feel like they are dining at home!

I can see why we book there year after year!!!

I want to say thanks to all the staff who make my job alot easier! Thanks for all your support and excellent service as always!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Really enjoyed my time here. Pool was nice with a great view and the service at the Burger Bar was excellent. Ate in the Fireside Lounge...food was excellent, service was friendly and the atmosphere was cozy. Had an awesome time listening to Scott DeCoste at night in the lounge. Also went out in the boat...the hotel has a great boat tour and the driver was so friendly and knowledgeable. I will be coming back next month for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RubeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Didn't expect this place to be as nice as it turned out to be. Rooms were comfy. The balconies looked out to the scenic waterfront. Had all the amenities of a resort. The restaurant had a deck that overlooked the waters as well. Nice service all round, from the front desk to the servers at the restaurant. The breakfast buffet had enough varieties and quality of food was good.

You may want to ask for rooms facing the water, the further away from the entrance to the rooms, the better the view.

A few mins drive away is a restaurant, the fish and chips and chicken served there was quite good. Price was reasonable. Further away is Foodland, the grocery store.

During the nights we stayed there, there was live music in the lounge. A nice place to sit around, have a beer and to chill out while listening to some oldies.

There's also a computer and internet, plus printer available for use which I always find very handy. There's also a small museum with some exhibits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammieMiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed in one of the cottages at the bottom of the hill by the water.
Road leading to cottages is FULL of potholes. Gravel is a hot commodity in Nova Scotia, you know.
No air conditioners in cottages, so don't stay there when its hot/humid.
Cottages were built in early 1990's & it shows, both in terms of style & repair.
Cottage had kitchenette with door that wouldn't close completely, so most food spoiled quicker than expected.
Jet tub was clean... until jets were turned on. This caused some brown/orange scum to float to surface of water in the tub.
Caesar salad in hotel restaurant was what I would expect at a diner (mostly light green leaves, as opposed to dark ones from the outside of the lettuce. Store bought croutons), yet they thought it was worth $12 + tax + tip, so more like $15.60. McDonald's makes better salad, seriously.
Breakfast buffet was limited in variety. Scrambled eggs (but the dry, oven-baked kind), bacon, home-fries and soggy pre-made waffles.

Room Tip: Rooms in hotel building have AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasClide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corsonsgal, General Manager at Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We apologize that you were not happy with your recent stay with us. I am pleased to say that we are doing some upgrades to our chalets units next year. We did start this past season with some of the units and will finish off in 2014.

I have passed on your other comments to the Outlets Manager and the Chef. They assure me this was an isolated incident and that food quality is being monitored

Thank you again for your comments as we can only correct items if we aware of them
Sincerely
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Western Shore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Western Shore
10.0 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
10.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
10.0 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bridgewater Hotel & Convention Centre
18.3 mi away
Oceanstone Resort
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 2 in Indian Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
10.7 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre

Property: Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Address: 36 Treasure Drive, Western Shore, Nova Scotia B0J 3M0, Canada (Formerly Atlantica Hotel & Marina Oak Island)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Western Shore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Western Shore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Hotel And Marina Oak Island
Oak Island Resort
Oak Island Hotel
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre Nova Scotia/Western Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing