We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Epicurean Theme Weekend on Feb 8-10, 2013 exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Western Shore
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Epicurean Theme Weekend on Feb 8-10, 2013 exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I along with four friends booked three rooms and the Epicurean package at the Oak Island Inn; for our annual February get-together this year. All members of our party were highly satisfied. The numerous food offerings were superb - the varied beverages, including local selections, were both good and plentiful, the pool, hot tub, sauna and gym were very good and the rooms were great. Hotel staff, especially Michelle (Outlets Manager) and Roger (Resident Chef) deserve honourable mention - On Feb 9, Nova Scotia experienced the worst winter storm of the year - Michelle and Roger went above and beyond, and fully made up for the absence of three food/beverage reps from away and who couldn't participate as intended due to the storm. Roger and Michelle, along with quite a few other staff members at Atlantica - Oak Island exhibited personality traits and a commitment to guest satisfaction that one simply can't get in many other hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    126
    80
    42
    16
See reviews for
110
143
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sable River
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went for the Girls just wat to have fun weekend. On a whim we went to the salon and spa and had our hair done. Awesome job by Jasmin. One of us even cried, that's how pleased we were. A beautiful resort and spa. We plan to return regularly.

Room Tip: The villas are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed there this past week, November 2012. I took a road trip down from Ontario with my sister and my dad to visit some family and stayed there for 6 nights. The staff were amazingly friendly and a few in particular went out of their way to ensure that our time there was indeed a great time. Hot apple cider every morning in the front lobby was a feature I enjoyed immensely. The food in the dinning room was great. The breakfast menu was a little pricey, so it is a better value when they have the buffet, but they only have that when there are 50 or more guests. The lobster eggs benedict is a must have for breakfast as is the lobster ravioli for dinner. If you do go I hope that you meet Jude at front desk and the waitress Janice. Both employees made our stay a one that we will remember forever!! It began to feel like home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Inn has nice facilities for dining, exercise, swimming etc as well as decent, clean rooms. A little up-grading would be nice (TVs very old, non-flat screen and unable to attach lap-top or external devices to and minor TLC - cracked tiles in hallways and door bottoms chipped etc). The meals in the restaurant are decent but overpriced. Rooms would benefit from better sound buffering (can hear TV/phone/alarm clock in next room very easily).
Staff are very friendly and helpful (front desk and wait staff in dining room were excellent) and the rooms overall are very clean and well equipped.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the "lounge" area as it can be noisey as people go to their rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrownVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaforth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

stayed here christmas time 2011. great setting overlooking the ocean, the view from the hot tub as the sun goes up watching the fishing boats go out is fantastic. we had one of the chalets and it could not have been better, clean modern and in perfect shape.
well recommended for a break at any time of year, infact we go back this Christmas !

Room Tip: get ocean view its worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

My Wife and I went to Oak Island for a Murder Mystery weekend and what we found was we wanted to come back to just explore the grounds. Its a beautiful venue on the ocean with a swimming pool, spa and a fantastic restaurant. The Murder Mystery itself was interesting, something we have always wanted to do but I think that we would like to come back just to enjoy the setting next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had received a gift certificate to the property for our anniversary and were excited to see this "beautiful" property.
The drive up and the entrance were everything we had been expecting for this area.... lovely, fresh and clean.
Upon receiving our keys to our room (118) we headed down the hall and off into another world. Down some back stairs to a dank and dirty hallway that smelled of mold and mildew, we arrived at our room. To say we were disappointed would be an understatement!
Our room was dark and musty, with two beds with questionably "clean" sheets and even more questionably clean carpets. Our dog didn't even like the smell on the floors... or the strange stains.
We did have a deck on the back that exited to the grass for the dog but the door had a broken lock and was being secured by a STICK!!! This is what passes for security around there!!??? Outrageous!
Food was adequate but nothing spectacular..... floors are even slippery as one of the waitresses can attest. She took a nasty fall while we were at breakfast.

I can honestly say that we have never stayed at a more disgustingly dirty hotel and will not be going back! Will never recommend this establishment to anyone either. If you doubt my interpretation of this property.... have a look at a few of my pictures.

My advice... save your money and travel a few more miles down the road to a better/cleaner establishment.
This place, even the dogs don't like it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth_H_334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Western Shore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Western Shore
10.0 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
10.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
10.0 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bridgewater Hotel & Convention Centre
18.3 mi away
Oceanstone Resort
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 2 in Indian Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
10.7 mi away
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre

Property: Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Address: 36 Treasure Drive, Western Shore, Nova Scotia B0J 3M0, Canada (Formerly Atlantica Hotel & Marina Oak Island)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Western Shore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Western Shore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Hotel And Marina Oak Island
Oak Island Resort
Oak Island Hotel
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre Nova Scotia/Western Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing