We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Western Shore
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodation”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed in one of the villas as part of our 25th Anniversary trip. Upon entering the villa, all my wife could say was "Wow!" The villas are modern (virtually brand new), with kitchen, a loft bedroom upstairs and another bedroom downstairs. Two and a half bathrooms. The kitchen has everything, including upscale glassware, dishes and flatware. You'd only need to bring your food and drink. This would be an ideal place for two couples or a family visit. We found it almost too big for 2 people (but we managed!) The balcony has a barbecue and it overlooks the marina. Overall, classy decor. We would definitely stay here again, but next time, we would bring our own food because we enjoy cooking and the kitchen would be a joy to prepare food in with some vino.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eugene_the_Jeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    132
    96
    48
    16
See reviews for
118
162
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Obviously an older hotel which they have renovated, not very sound proof though. Other family had a worse night the next night as a wedding was on at the hotel and very noisy throughout the night. Not much else in the area though.
Rate was reasonable, but I would not pay rack rate if I had to.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank golfer09Sask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotsburn, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The Atlantica was more beautifull then words can say the veiw of the ocean is amazing we spent june 30 and july 1st at Atlantica and had an awsome time we took our three kids with us the staff is amazing very friendly and always smiling everything was perfect the kids had so much fun the treasure hunt was their favorite as well the healthy snack left in our room for the kids this hotel is super clean and beautifully decorated the rooms are spacious and we loved having a balcony its the perfect family vacation but equally beautifull for a romantic get away or a relaxing time with freinds the spa , hair salon and outside tiki bar all make this a great place to stay for any reason we only stayed two nights but wish we would have stayed a week we will definetly be returning to this beautiful resort thanks Atlantica for a super family vacation

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious i love the balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherri57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

be aware this hotel has very little soundproofing.Wearrivedon a saturday and needed
sleep as our trip had taken a lot of saving for.
we was a bit perturbed to realize a large wedding party was staying that night ,but thought
they would be housed in a area away from other guests.
No such luck.Groups of people chatting and laughing in corridors as they passed could
clearly be heard ,so late at night when they had a few drinks the noise was not funny.
When the persons in room above us turned in at 2am we heared ever thud ,bang door
closing drawer opening ect ,but the creaking floorboards went on and on.
Eventualy i climbed on bed knocked on ceiling,taking skin of my knuckles as ceiling
is textured.
People eventualy took hint and settled down.
By this time we was wide awake and was awake for rest of night.
I brought the soundproofing issue up next morning ,but manegment just said why did
we not ring security,how could we as people was only getting ready for bed and
chatting.The lack of soundproofing is the issue.
I guess they make lots of money from weddings so a single booking does not bother
them.
They did slip a breakfast voucher under the door ,this was returned as we left ,we needed
sleep not food.
It was such a shame as we was so tired next day it ruined kejimkujic park for us,
we only stayed a hour deciding to press on to next hotel so we could have a snooze.
If you dont mind creaking floorboards and listening to people passing your room fine.
But it was the worset place we stayed in.

Room Tip: take earplugs if you stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lottie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Western Shore hotels

Newfoundland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The resort is very clean and the staff are friendly. Our room was very quiet for sleeping and we had a balcony overlooking the ocean.The grounds are beautiful and the setting is idyllic. I was travelling with my two sons, so I particularly loved the indoor and outdoor pool. The restaurant is elegant and the food was lovely. I had the maple planked salmon, yummy! There are several nice public sitting areas with comfy couches and even a fireplace. It's a short drive to Chester , Mahone Bay and Lunenburg. I'd highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had heard of the legend of the Oak Island treasure in the bottomless money pit, so when we travelled to PEI and Nova Scotia, we had to see the actual location. Even AAA couldn't map the route for me to this location, but then we happened to find the hotel listed in the AAA travel guide?
The hotel and marina are in a scenic location. The hotel restaurant had very good food and reasonably priced. You can see Oak Island from the hotel and they have information about the known history of the supposed treasure on Oak Island. Unfortunately, the island is privately owned and no visitors are allowed.
We loved our visit and actually plan on returning to Nova Scotia. Be sure to visit Peggy's Cove which is nearby.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Oak Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDixieDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcorkin, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel, the actual Island itself is privately owned, however this summer they are doing tours of the island on slect dates. Feel free to give us a call for more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2011

During my weekend with the girls at the "Oak Island Inn" I found the staff to be delightful in trying to please us. I had misplaced my camera and one of the staff held it aside for me to locate which was a relief for sure...such a nice lady with a great smile. Smiles go a long way. All the staff tried to ensure we had everything we needed, from the front desk, waitresses, bar staff, room attendents onward, they were wonderful. Treat people with respect and you get it back tenfold!
The courses offered were all fun and energetic. Food was great. The pool and hot tub was wonderful. Our rooms were very nice, next to the Spa-no noise. We all enjoyed our stay and will return again next year for the Girls Weekend.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the water are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catbird24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Western Shore
10.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
259 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bridgewater Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
317 reviews
13.9 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Center - Bridgewater
13.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Bridgewater
Comfort Inn Bridgewater
#4 of 5 in Bridgewater
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre

Property: Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Address: 36 Treasure Drive, Western Shore, Nova Scotia B0J 3M0, Canada (Formerly Atlantica Hotel & Marina Oak Island)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Western Shore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Western Shore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Hotel And Marina Oak Island
Oak Island Resort
Oak Island Hotel
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre Nova Scotia/Western Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing