We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big portions and great food”

Big Al's Family Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Tatamagouche
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 1987, Big Al's is celebrating it's 30th anniversary in 2017. We pride ourselves in serving quality Canadian cuisine in a friendly, child-friendly atmosphere.
Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Big portions and great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here today for supper. Both of us had the haddock and chips. I was glad I ordered the one piece as my husband could hardly finish the two piece. The batter was crispy, fish hot and cooked to perfection. I prefer a lighter batter, but still enjoyed. Our server was friendly and checked back with us. My only criticism is with the two windows that need to be resealed, as you couldn't see out of them. I will return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    46
    34
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Mountain, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This is what my wife told me when we walked in and sat down.
Well I must say I was very impressed with the food as well as the service !!! My wife had a seafood bake, which she loved! While I tried the Greek hamburger and really enjoyed it as well.
We would stop by of we ever come back this way. ..... oh and I won 27.00 dollars on the 50 /50 draw, what a bonus.

Helpful?
2 Thank stevealg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

This place was recommended to me by a shop owner so I gave it a try. It is large with lots of windows and some interesting wood carvings of animals by the front door. My waitress was cheerful and attentive. I had the special which was a pesto chicken wrap with roasted veggies that was delicious. I passed on the side, several varieties of potatoes or rice. When I went to pay she knocked $2 off the bill so that was a pleasant surprise. I paid $7.99 for lunch + tip. I will definitely eat here the next time I'm in town. Free wifi which is nice if you are dining alone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Challs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott0604, Owner at Big Al's Family Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of our Restaurant. We always try very hard to give our customers a pleasant experience. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We ate dinner at Big Al's on Saturday June 28th while staying overnight at the Train Station Inn. We ordered chicken wings and two different burgers with potato skins. The service was prompt and courteous. Refills on the drinks when needed. The chicken wings were tasty but we both found the burgers a little dry. Potato skins were good but could have used a little more cheese. Overall I would rate them as above average in service but average on the food. Typical bar/pub layout and decor with an additional patio section. I would take a chance on eating here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nacho_larry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good Service, Okay Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I had the chicken club with fires. Pretty good food. Not the best pub food I have had. The service was excellent. The prices are average to above average.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nwaynesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Al's Family Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia
 
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia
 
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Big Al's Family Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing