We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop bye”

Big Al's Family Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Tatamagouche
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Established in 1987, Big Al's is celebrating it's 30th anniversary in 2017. We pride ourselves in serving quality Canadian cuisine in a friendly, child-friendly atmosphere.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stop bye”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good food, slow service, large portions.........................................................................................

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    52
    34
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Merrickville, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“what a pub should be”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Like another reviewer, we also had Shelley as a waitress and she was fast, courteous and helpful. The food is great...what pub food should be, with a Maritime flavour ( fish n chips, fried clams, lobster roll, chowder, etc. ). Keep up the good work!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nevan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Chicken Caesar”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Large size, great taste! Very fresh chicken caesar salad. Cold beer, great atmosphere. Everything you'd expect from a good pub-style restaurant. Great for large groups too!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank xBellaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pictou, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Pub atmosphere”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Anything!! It is all good. My husband and I have eaten here about a dozen times. We love the atmosphere, and the food is always good... whatever we order. The restaurant is close to a TransCanada trail, and often there are snowmobilers there in the winter and ATV'ers the other seasons. The atmosphere is friendly and "down home".

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank CarolMacKay60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“review”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

love Big Al's Great food even greater service Love our server Shelley She was great Please keep her on!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank kmac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Al's Family Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia
 
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Big Al's Family Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing