We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and meals”
Review of Train Station Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Train Station Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Tatamagouche B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What an awesome experience. We stayed in one of the train carriages and it was great. I wish I could dream up something like this and make it come through. The Caboose was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were excellent and helpful. Would highly recommend the experience.

The breakfasts were awesome and the dinner, in the dining car was even better. Absolutely loved the raspberry pie that we had seconds of desert. Would have gone for thirds if they didn't run out, it was that good.

The location was great and it was a short walk to everything.

Room Tip: We had Caboose no. 9 - we even had a balcony with table and chairs at the front of our carriage wher...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryFrancesRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Train Station Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 204 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stroll around this location prior to enjoying a fabulous meal in the dining car. It was nice that several cars where open to the public and you could even view a few of the accommodation cars which were very nicely decoration in the period! At no charge I might add!

Room Tip: Did not stay their on this trip but something I would consider in the future!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HsppyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I can't begin to say how disappointed the 3 in my party were after having the lobster sandwiches recently. We travelled down last year from Dartmouth in the late summer and had such a delicious Lobster treat we could not wait to go back this year. Sadly we found that the lobster sandwiches we had been dreaming of for almost 9 months and had been willing to pay $60 in gas to get to, had been replaced by mushed and wet canned lobster meat. The strongest flavor in the sandwich was the lettuce. Very disappointed. Will stick to the McLobster in future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lysa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in boxcar Jimmie for one night. The room had enough room for the two of us. It even had a small bed in a loft-like space. The boxcar was closest to the cafe's wifi spot, so we didn't have to sit outside at night to get a good connection. Didn't get a chance to have dinner there because we were full from the snacks and wine at Jost winery. The winery is a short drive from the inn, so definitely check it out!
It was great to hear a bit about the history of the place from Stationmaster James, and exploring the different rail cars. Fun and unique experience. Would definitely go back, and hopefully take some of our younger cousins too.
It was a tad odd when people came to the inn for lunch and dinner time and would peer in to the occupied rail cars. A couple of times we walked back in to our room to see a few people trying to check out our boxcar. They apologized saying they didn't realize it was a room with occupants. Maybe they could have clear signs on which are rooms where people are staying, and which are empty for visitors to explore?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Caboose and Boxcars are all well equipped with every comfort. They are air-conditioned and include private baths, sitting areas and bedrooms. There is a walking trail right behind, with a very short walk to some craft shops. There is a wonderful gift shop on site, as well as a cafe and a dining car. The stationmaster, Jimmie, does everything he can to ensure each of his guests are taken care of! His creative vision to salvage this station and these train cars is unbelievable. What he has done is truly unique, and staying here is one of the neatest hotel experiences of my travels! Try to meet him and ask him about the place...he is passionate about what he does, and you will enjoy his tales! One warning: mosquitoes! If you are outdoors at night, be sure to have repellent. I would love to go back and take my kids...they would love it!!

Room Tip: Each "room" is different...be sure to check specifics on their website to see what each o...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcvoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed a couple nights in one of the cabooses. You have the whole car so there is plenty of space, in our case that included a cupola, kitchenette/reading room, bath in addition to the bedroom. You stay here for the unique experience, not for 5 star hotel amenities but it had all we needed. The room was clean, the people were all very nice and it the memory will last far longer than of the garden variety B&B. My only ding is that the breakfast was pretty minimal (unless you pay extra) but the coffee is great.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Flyingsfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Despite living within easy reach we had never stayed at this iconic, unique Inn, so we made reservations on the spur of the moment, and headed to catch a train. Unfortunately all the cabooses were booked, so we nestled into "Boxcar Jane", which was well appointed and comfortable, but is less "sexy" than one of the cabooses.

There are many reviews of the Inn, so I will be brief. The rooms are pricey, but understandably so given the historic and tricky nature of the room conversions. The facility is professionally run, and the staff are uniformly friendly and knowledgeable.

The Northumberland Shore is the least visually compelling of Nova Scotia's three coastlines (the others being the Bay of Fundy, and the Atlantic), yet there are many nearby attractions: the Tatamagouche Rail-Trail, Lismore Sheep farm, Sutherland Steam Mill, many trails and waterfalls in the Cobequid Hills, the Wallace Bay Wildlife Sanctuary, the Jost Winery, etc.

In other words, the area is worth a visit, and the Train Staion Inn is worth a stay. Recommended.

Room Tip: Cabooses have the nod over boxcars.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Accentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tatamagouche
13.2 mi away
Fox Harb'r Resort
Fox Harb'r Resort
#1 of 1 in Wallace
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#1 of 1 in Tatamagouche
40 reviews
4.0 mi away
Forest Haven Inn B & B
Forest Haven Inn B & B
#4 of 6 in Tatamagouche
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Dolan's Inn & Suites
#5 of 6 in Tatamagouche
4 reviews
4.7 mi away
No photo provided
MeHomeBy Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Tatamagouche
3 reviews
11.9 mi away
Jubilee Cottage Inn
Jubilee Cottage Inn
#1 of 1 in Wallace
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Train Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Train Station Inn

Address: 21 Station Road, Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia B0K 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Tatamagouche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tatamagouche
Price Range: $118 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Train Station Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and experience Nova Scotia’s Railway heritage, brought to life in this award winning country inn. Accommodations are located in private railway cars which have been developed into deluxe suites with all the modern amenities from fireplaces, king beds and air conditioning. We also have rooms in the former Stationmaster's residence on the second floor of the Train Station. You can dine in our Railway Dining Car, enjoy your favourite drink in the observation lounge of the Vice Royal Railway Car "Alexandra" or relax in the railway museum café in the train station. Don't forget to explore our "funky" gift shop and take a stroll on the old rail bed now the Trans Canada Trail that follows along the Tatamagouche Bay passing the Creamery Square and Tatamagouche Grain Elevator Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Train Station Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Train Station Inn Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing