We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Train Station Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Train Station Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Tatamagouche B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick, NS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stopped here for lunch and it was excellent. We were quickly seated in a restored dining car of the Canadian National Railroad by a friendly and very helpful waitress. The lunch was served promptly and efficiently and was one of the better salads I have ever had. There are other railroad cars there to visit, including the "Governor General's" private car so there is more to see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    57
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
100
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mclean
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This place was worth the excursion. Attentively restored rail cars including Madison diner, boxes, and cabooses. Great food. Wonderful service. The owner is a gem - make sure you meet him before you check out. Highlight of the trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in caboose #4. Great for a family (big bed with two nice sized bunks for the kids in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertQ465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We wqere greated by the owner on arrival. Check in was really easy. We stayed in #10 Caboose
I am quite familiar with the railroad as well as a Railway fan. The caboose was nicely redone, excellent bedding.
Resturants are superb. We had supper both nights in the dinning car. The Almond crushed salmom, greek chicken and chicken stir fries along with the flourless choclate cake were all excellent. I went over to the Jitney cafe in the morning to pick up breakfast and take back to our caboose. I had Bacon and eggs my wife the blueberry pancakes. We also had home made tea biscuits and rubarb biscuits. Service great food great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaihtJohnliftman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was really fun to spend the night in a rail car. We stayed in caboose 5 and enjoyed the decor as well as "second-level" seating area. Our stay also included breakfast which was served in a cute cafe style setting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deidre-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Wow what a gem. We stayed here on May 25th. The station and trains are fantastic to say the least. The staff were great and informative. We had supper in the Dining Car and it was awesome. We stayed in "9 which was two single beds and one queen. The queen room had a lovely fireplace (electric) with a door that opened onto a small patio with table and chairs. It was lovely. The weather was not the best however we braved the damp and mist and went exploring anyway. The grounds and items on display and the trains were amazing. Then we discovered that the Trans Canada Trail ran right behind this little treasure. This was awesome. After a great supper we headed out along the trail and discovered some great look offs and wonderful scenery. I would highly recommend this Inn and I will be returning in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakehalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in caboose number 10 for two nights and loved it. There was plenty of space and it was full of character. The bedroom was wonderfully cosy and we managed to sleep through a really bad storm. We had a really good meal in the dining car one night but the absolutely best thing were the blueberry pancakes served in the Jitney – the best we had in Nova Scotia. Jimmy has done a fantastic job in preserving the train station, while at the same time retaining the character of the place. If you visit at the weekend make sure you visit the Farmer's Market – I wish we had one like this at home. While in Tatamagouch try to visit the Lismore Sheep Farm – it has a brilliant shop which is a bit expensive but does support the local community. If you wante to see live music and try good cocktails be sure to visit Fables Bar on the main street

Room Tip: Caboose 10 has plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lennyross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

37 years in the travel industry for me and a hotel room is a hotel room is a hotel room, but not here. A wonderful change from the normal. Quiet and peaceful, we loved our Caboose and were extremely impressed with what the innkeeper, Jim, has done with this old station and his town. A superb welcome and tour of the train and it's beautifully equipped accommodation. Out of season visit, so restaurant closed, thus only 4 stars. We will return and have no hesitation in reccommending your 'sleeping cars' to everyone.
Maggs & Mal Lewendon, Oct 2012

Room Tip: Some 'rooms' sleep only two, others more. Check all the 'rooms' on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tatamagouche
13.1 mi away
Fox Harb'r Resort
Fox Harb'r Resort
#1 of 1 in Wallace
125 reviews
11.9 mi away
Jubilee Cottage Inn
Jubilee Cottage Inn
#1 of 1 in Wallace
26 reviews
24.5 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#1 of 1 in Tatamagouche
31 reviews
15.4 mi away
HI-Wentworth International Hostel & Lodge
6.3 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Train Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Train Station Inn

Property: Train Station Inn
Address: 21 Station Road, Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia B0K 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Tatamagouche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tatamagouche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Train Station Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and experience Nova Scotia’s Railway heritage, brought to life in this award winning country inn. Accommodations are located in private railway cars which have been developed into deluxe suites with all the modern amenities from fireplaces, king beds and air conditioning. We also have rooms in the former Stationmaster's residence on the second floor of the Train Station. You can dine in our Railway Dining Car, enjoy your favourite drink in the observation lounge of the Vice Royal Railway Car "Alexandra" or relax in the railway museum café in the train station. Don't forget to explore our "funky" gift shop and take a stroll on the old rail bed now the Trans Canada Trail that follows along the Tatamagouche Bay passing the Creamery Square and Tatamagouche Grain Elevator Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Train Station Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Train Station Inn Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing