We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great idea and rooms, skip the restaurant!”
Review of Train Station Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Train Station Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Tatamagouche B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a unique place, not just for train enthusiasts. The rooms in the train cars are amazing, the setting excellent, the breakfast in the Cafe busy but delicious. Unfortunately the restaurant in the atmospheric dining car fell short of any expectations though. The service by a novice waitress was slow and unprofessional, the food was mediocre to awful - a shame for a place like this!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CKL0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrainStationInn, Manager at Train Station Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of the Train Station Inn and Railway Dining Car. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, but disappointed to hear the Railway Dining Car did not meet your expectations. I would be more than happy to hear about your dining car experience in greater detail so we can work on fixing the problems you encountered with your visit.

Please feel free to email me at janette@trainstation.ca. We take all complaints very seriously and hope by gaining a greater knowledge of your disappointment we can improve our service and menu.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Janette Thompson
Food & Beverage Manager
Train Station Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Train Station Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 204 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

We used our stay at Tatamagouche as a stopover between Cape Breton Island and PEI. I had researched the Train Station Inn when I was planning our Maritime trip. I used the reviews from trip advisor apps as a guide. I have two young teenage boys who as young children were fascinated with trains so this was one stop we were so excited about. We drove a long day and were very elated to find the Train Station Inn around 8 that night. The kids were so excited that they didn't even want to eat they just wanted to explore the grounds. We had not booked t the dinning car but they accommodated us anyways. Food was terrific. We stayed in caboose 4 which had bunk beds and a separate room with a queen bed. Anyone in Nova Scotia looking for a unique nostalgic place to stay make this place top priority. We are at the end of our tour of the Maritimes and this was our favorite place to stay.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Finally had a chance to check out the Train Station Inn. Loved everything about it. For starters our meal was excellent. Seafood chowder, fish cakes, salads, baked beans, etc. Delicious. Didn't get to spend the night in the train but did get to see some of the rooms. They look very cute and cozy and unique. The property is decorated very nicely with the old train station and the gift store was interesting to browse around. This place is worth the stop.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graywolfpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family recently spent a memorable night in Caboose number 9 at the Train Station Inn. The gift shop was possibly the best I've been in (in Nova Scotia) and we loved the way Station Master James was in full uniform and happy to pose for pictures. In fact all the staff were lovely. One kind lady brought us a pot of tea outside the café and didn’t charge us a penny as we were guests of the inn.
The meal in the restaurant was good but a little pricey, and had us wishing there was more choice on the menu. For breakfast we had the Acadian French toast in the Station waiting room - delicious and great value.
We enjoyed the Train Station Inn as it was very relaxing. We particularly loved Caboose 9 as it was in the sidings and had a private outdoor deck to sit on and watch comings and goings at the station house. There’s also a trail right behind the station, with a nice easy walk to the river for views.
If you’re wanting a unique, fun place to stay overnight, or for a few nights, this is perfect place.
One tip: Make sure you lock the door before going out. We came back to find some guys trying to get into to our caboose. They apologised and said they were just looking around and didn’t realise the cabooses were rented out. Made us glad we’d locked up!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank EagleAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Very enjoyable. The converted cabooses are quite comfortable so long as you are spry and not too big. The steps up into the cabooses are steep and narrow. The bathrooms are also a bit cramped for anyone large. We did not discover the small TV (in a cupboard) until we were checking out. I consider these small inconveniences part of the charm. The location is quiet. The gift store was fascinating. The restaurant in the dining car was excellent. You could see (in June) the garden where they were growing their own herbs and vegetables.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank batchguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

To stay in an old train wagon is a very unique experience. Anotherone of the UCI of NS we were send by the Ashlea House in Lunenburg this was also a very special stay for us. On my 49th birthday this is a remeberable place. We also had dinner in the dining car. The food was very good, the prices absolute fair.
Highly recommended to everybody who wants to have sometihing to remember and not a standard motel room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ducky0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stopped in here because we were following stops on the "Chowder Trail" as we travelled around Nova Scotia.

The chowder was very good, and I cannot say what it would be like to stay in one of the railway cars, since we did not. But the little dining car restaurant was lovely, and the whole structure was simply charming. There was a lovely gift shop, not of the "authentic Nova Scotia" craft variety, but the sort where you can easily spend an hour or two browsing.

I think this would be a great place to perhaps break your journey from Halifax to the Cabot Trail.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank suec89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tatamagouche
13.2 mi away
Fox Harb'r Resort
Fox Harb'r Resort
#1 of 1 in Wallace
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#1 of 1 in Tatamagouche
40 reviews
4.0 mi away
Forest Haven Inn B & B
Forest Haven Inn B & B
#4 of 6 in Tatamagouche
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Dolan's Inn & Suites
#5 of 6 in Tatamagouche
4 reviews
4.7 mi away
No photo provided
MeHomeBy Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Tatamagouche
3 reviews
11.9 mi away
Jubilee Cottage Inn
Jubilee Cottage Inn
#1 of 1 in Wallace
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Train Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Train Station Inn

Address: 21 Station Road, Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia B0K 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Tatamagouche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tatamagouche
Price Range: $118 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Train Station Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and experience Nova Scotia’s Railway heritage, brought to life in this award winning country inn. Accommodations are located in private railway cars which have been developed into deluxe suites with all the modern amenities from fireplaces, king beds and air conditioning. We also have rooms in the former Stationmaster's residence on the second floor of the Train Station. You can dine in our Railway Dining Car, enjoy your favourite drink in the observation lounge of the Vice Royal Railway Car "Alexandra" or relax in the railway museum café in the train station. Don't forget to explore our "funky" gift shop and take a stroll on the old rail bed now the Trans Canada Trail that follows along the Tatamagouche Bay passing the Creamery Square and Tatamagouche Grain Elevator Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Train Station Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Train Station Inn Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing