We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique atmosphere”
Review of Train Station Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Train Station Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Tatamagouche B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Babenhausen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“unique atmosphere”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

To stay in an old train wagon is a very unique experience. Anotherone of the UCI of NS we were send by the Ashlea House in Lunenburg this was also a very special stay for us. On my 49th birthday this is a remeberable place. We also had dinner in the dining car. The food was very good, the prices absolute fair.
Highly recommended to everybody who wants to have sometihing to remember and not a standard motel room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ducky0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    60
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
64
103
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stopped in here because we were following stops on the "Chowder Trail" as we travelled around Nova Scotia.

The chowder was very good, and I cannot say what it would be like to stay in one of the railway cars, since we did not. But the little dining car restaurant was lovely, and the whole structure was simply charming. There was a lovely gift shop, not of the "authentic Nova Scotia" craft variety, but the sort where you can easily spend an hour or two browsing.

I think this would be a great place to perhaps break your journey from Halifax to the Cabot Trail.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suec89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We drove out of our way to enjoy the unique experience of staying a night in a caboose or train car. This neat little B&B has a dozen or so train cars converted into rooms or dining car and even one just to hang out. The train station also has a few rooms along with the gift shop and the breakfast cage. The rooms are really cute and not too expensive, especially if you are a large group or family.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barricuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We saw this on line and thought it would be a unique experience and we weren't disappointed. A slight difficulty in our original request for Caboose No. 5 was quickly dealt with by Jimmy and he upgraded us at no additional cost to Caboose No. 9. Very comfortable and quiet. We stayed here two nights and had breakfasts in the station waiting room, at a modest cost and they were very enjoyable. We ate one evening in the dining car, which was different, and the food quite good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our experience here, we stayed in a caboose... it was awesome, had a fireplace and the bed was super comfy. We went to the museum and ate dinner at the dinner car - the food was okay, my husband didnt like his steak as much as he'd hoped a bit tough but my seafood was good ,the atmosphere was nice and the staff were great. Breakfast was amazing and they have the sweetest gift shop and managed to knock off some Christmas shopping here, lots of great unique items. We are definately coming back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Like other users, I read these reviews before booking hotels, flights and attractions. Like many other hotels, there are a few negative things said and this can make you anxious before you travel. The Train Station Inn should cause you no sleepless nights based on the reviews I have read. You are staying in a converted caboose, train station or box car and anyone booking should really get that from the name! We have stayed in big-brand hotels around the World and everyone can find something to complain about at every one. TheTrain Station Inn is a unique idea delivered in a rural area by a family business at reasonable cost. We had a great time (we stayed 2 nights in Caboose 5 in September 2011). We didnt encounter any problems but would have felt totally happy to raise them, let's face it, when was the last time you saw a hotel owner each morning at breakfast and on demand during the day? I like trains but my wife just wants clean, well equipped and comfortable rooms, neither of us was disappointed here. If visiting attractions in the area, do always call ahead whenever possible as times in guides and leaflets seem to be changeable. If you possibly can, do walk the path along the route of the old track next to the Station, it is level and easily managed in all weather without hiking gear and there are some lovely views of the river. We enjoyed this experience so much, we will plan our next visit to Nova Scotia just so we can stay again. If time permits, sit in the lounge car, the aircon is very effective and it is very comfortable in there. Also, try any of the salmon dishes in the Restaurant. There is a good supermarket in the village if you need any essential groceries.

Room Tip: E-mail your likes and dislikes and the crew will advise you. We are really choosy about our requirem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlfieHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrainStationInn, General Manager at Train Station Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Wow! What a great review. Thank you so much. Your comments were honest, to the point, helpful for potential guests & visitors and very well written...oh, and quite favourable :)
What more could we ask...thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Our trip to Nova Scotia this year started with the decision to take in the scenic route around the Province starting at Amerst and ending up in Digby for the 2011 Wharf Rat Rally. Our first stop brought us to Tatamagouche and the Train Station Inn ; what a treasure. Meeting James for the first time was unforgetable. He is witty , soft spoken and very knowledgable ; especially about his beloved station and trains. All the train cars are well apointed and very clean. Behind the station is a well thought out and scenic walking path. All in all it was a nite well spent.

Thank you James.

Don & Lue.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tatamagouche
13.1 mi away
Fox Harb'r Resort
Fox Harb'r Resort
#1 of 1 in Wallace
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#1 of 1 in Tatamagouche
34 reviews
11.9 mi away
Jubilee Cottage Inn
Jubilee Cottage Inn
#1 of 1 in Wallace
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Dolan's Inn & Suites
#4 of 6 in Tatamagouche
3 reviews
4.6 mi away
No photo provided
MeHomeBy Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Tatamagouche
2 reviews
24.5 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Train Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Train Station Inn

Property: Train Station Inn
Address: 21 Station Road, Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia B0K 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Tatamagouche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tatamagouche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Train Station Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and experience Nova Scotia’s Railway heritage, brought to life in this award winning country inn. Accommodations are located in private railway cars which have been developed into deluxe suites with all the modern amenities from fireplaces, king beds and air conditioning. We also have rooms in the former Stationmaster's residence on the second floor of the Train Station. You can dine in our Railway Dining Car, enjoy your favourite drink in the observation lounge of the Vice Royal Railway Car "Alexandra" or relax in the railway museum café in the train station. Don't forget to explore our "funky" gift shop and take a stroll on the old rail bed now the Trans Canada Trail that follows along the Tatamagouche Bay passing the Creamery Square and Tatamagouche Grain Elevator Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Train Station Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Train Station Inn Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing