We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Family Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Train Station Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Train Station Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Tatamagouche B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Family Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had an awesome time at the Train Station Inn from start to finish. We were all thrilled to be staying overnight in a caboose for the first time (especially the kids!), and our meal in the dining car was perhaps one of the best dining experiences we've ever had! Crystal our server was excellent, and the food was fantastic. We were especially appreciative of the staff's efforts to accommodate our children's food allergies (and the view of the bird feeder was a huge plus too). Our breakfast was equally enjoyable and we loved playing "I spy" with all of the antiques on the wall in the cafe. We'd highly recommend the Train Station Inn for anyone seeking a unique getaway experience.

Room Tip: Caboose 9 is perfect for a family of four!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippinTrefry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrainStationInn, General Manager at Train Station Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
There's certainly lots of railway artifacts on the walls to play "I Spy" with here at the train station, that's for sure. We are so glad we are able to accommodate your children's dietary needs in our dining car and we'd love to have your family spend the night with us again in the future.

Thanks so much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    57
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
100
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

My cousin (who works for CP Rail) and I were biking through the area and had to stop to see this one of a kind place. Although we did not stay here, we did have supper in the dining car and returned the next morning for a tour. Supper was terrific. When we returned the next morning the owner, James LeFresne, generously gave of his time to show us a few of the converted cars and tell us the story of the Train Station inn. This was definitely one of the highlights of our cycling trip and we would strongly encourage anyway going through Tatamagouche to stop and enjoy this jewel!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CarrieEBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed at the Inn overnight to celebrate my birthday. The Inn staff were very helpful and the caboose we slept in was very comfortable. However we booked a meal in the dining car for 6.30pm. After putting in our orders it took 25 minutes for our drinks to arrive. At 7.45 5 of the 6 in our party were served our meals and the 6th told his would be out shortly. However by 8.15 it had still not come. We decided to leave. The food which the rest of us had was very good but the service just awful. The manageress Janet gave no explanation or apology. The inn manager gave my brother in law some coffee and muffins so he wouldn't go hungry but what a disappointment. We were visiting from England and this was not a highlight of our trip and definitely spoilt my birthday evening.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanderlingslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrainStationInn, General Manager at Train Station Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
The disappointment you felt with your dining experience in our railway dining car is extremely unfortunate. A mistake was certainly made on our part and a meal was forgotten and delivered late. We are all human and can make mistakes, for this we do again apologize. However, while accepting blame for this mishap it’s only fair for everyone involved that we share some more details and give a bit of clarification.

As stated a meal was delivered late however it was delivered and offered complimentary but refused. An explanation and apology was also given as stated from staff as well as from testimonial of other customers in the dining car on that evening (June 18th, 2011). The comments from other customers felt our staff did act in an appropriate manner and they also strongly stated that “our evening was disrupted by rude and inappropriate treatment of staff” by your party and felt compelled to bring this to our attention.

With all that being said, it does not change the fact that we did indeed make a mistake. Disappointing our customers is the last thing we wish to do. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our accommodations regardless of your dining experience and we appreciate both your compliments and criticisms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

We were intrigued with the idea of staying in a caboose for vacation, so we tried it! There are several cabooses that have been converted into lodging. The one we stayed in, number 10, had a sitting area, a kitchenette (minus an oven), a bedroom, bath, and the upper part of the caboose had a small table and two chairs. You could sit up there and admire the view. The staff was exceptional, and the food was very good. There is a train on the premises that offers dinner service, and the food is really outstanding. We would highly recommend this offbeat inn for a fun and unusual vacation.

Room Tip: Make reservations, since they fill up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greydeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrainStationInn, General Manager at Train Station Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Thanks so much, hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

Fortunately we only had one night at The Train Station. We stayed in the station house. The bed was rock hard and sheets tired and dated looking and extremely scratchy. We put the ceiling fan on and sparks came from the light fitting so we quickly switched it off again. It was impossible to sleep, we ended up having a really bad night. We ate in the rail car and the food was reasonable - good job because there was really very little else around. There was a nice walk along the old railway track, but that did not make up for the poor accommodation. We did stay for breakfast, and this was in the main station house - to be honest the place was just covered in dust, dark and dingy. We made a pretty hasty retreat and moved on to our next destination - luckily our next hotel took pity on us and let us check in early so that we could have a shower there - the shower and toilet at The Train Station was a dark pokey cupboard. For the cost it's definitely not worth the money - give it a miss if you want a decent night's sleep and move on!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCBr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrainStationInn, General Manager at Train Station Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us,

Being privately owned we are faced with some hard decisions on where to focus our efforts as we cannot do everything at once. Unfortunately the rooms in the inn may have taken a bit of back seat lately as everyone wants to stay in the railway cars.
Not to fret, your concerns have not gone unnoticed and we have been listening. Since your visit we have completely renovated the cafe where you had your breakfast and we can assure you it is no longer "dark and dingy" however we did keep the railway memorabilia guests have donated to us over the years for display on the walls (but we did bring it down for a good cleaning as well). We have made upgrades to the rooms in the inn also and have made plans for renovations starting right away and hopefully completed this winter as we are able.
We do apologize for taking so long in responding but we did want to finish some of our renovations so we could assure you we HAVE been listening and we DID make changes and will continue to. We truly do need the feedback to keep us on our toes...when we are good and bad. We hope you will give us another chance and visit us again, come see our changes, and maybe this time spend a night in one of our railway cars.

Thank You,

TSI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

My second visit to this wonderful inn was to be a 2 night stay with my wife and 2 friends. We checked in and had a wonderful meal in the dining car. Shortly after dinner my wife retired to our car saying she was not feeling well. I followed shortly thereafter and we went to sleep. About an hour and a half later I awoke with my wife calling for me. She was in the washroom in excruciating pain. I took her to the hospital and they called an ambulance to take her to Truro. I came back to Tatamagouche in the morning and explained what had happened. I was released from my next nights reservation and was treated extremely kindly by all staff that I dealt with. My wife spent 10 days in Truro hospital and then 20 days in the hospital here at home after being flown home. She finally had surgery in November and still has a bit to go for a complete recovery. Having said all that we are looking forward to our next visit and stay at the Train Station Inn.....whenever that might be!!!!

Larry Pratt
Hamilton, Ontario

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larry226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We have stayed at the Train Station in 5 times while making autumn trips from Halifax to PEI. It's a beautiful area and a unique experience. Jimmy clearly loves his place and shares his knowledge of the railway history and area. Reservations by internet are easy to make and Jimmy has always answered any questions I sent by e-mail quickly.
We have stayed in different cabooses each time and each has its benefits. Our dinners have always been excellent with wonderful soup, excellent entrees and tempting desserts. A walk along the old rail line into town is usually mandatory after their hearty meals.
We were very disappointed with the restaurant up the road from the station once when the Inn's dining car was not open (it's seasonal). Locals and tourists not staying here often eat in the dining car and/or breakfast area as well because of the quality and atmosphere. We have had some wonderful discussions with other tourists and locals there. The former private car attached to the diner is another great lounge area to relax and chat. We are usually tempted to eat lightly at breakfast but the smell of fresh blueberry pancakes or french toast in the breakfast room is always too much to resist. The souvenir shop is well-stocked and the breakfast area is a museum featuring the rail history of the area.
A stop at the Train Station Inn is mandatory for our road trips is the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donald589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tatamagouche
13.2 mi away
Fox Harb'r Resort
Fox Harb'r Resort
#1 of 1 in Wallace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#1 of 1 in Tatamagouche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
24.4 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Jubilee Cottage Inn
Jubilee Cottage Inn
#1 of 1 in Wallace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
15.4 mi away
HI-Wentworth International Hostel & Lodge
6.3 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Train Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Train Station Inn

Property: Train Station Inn
Address: 21 Station Road, Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia B0K 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Tatamagouche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tatamagouche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Train Station Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and experience Nova Scotia’s Railway heritage, brought to life in this award winning country inn. Accommodations are located in private railway cars which have been developed into deluxe suites with all the modern amenities from fireplaces, king beds and air conditioning. We also have rooms in the former Stationmaster's residence on the second floor of the Train Station. You can dine in our Railway Dining Car, enjoy your favourite drink in the observation lounge of the Vice Royal Railway Car "Alexandra" or relax in the railway museum café in the train station. Don't forget to explore our "funky" gift shop and take a stroll on the old rail bed now the Trans Canada Trail that follows along the Tatamagouche Bay passing the Creamery Square and Tatamagouche Grain Elevator Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Train Station Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Train Station Inn Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing