We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Delicous”
Review of Chowder House Cafe

Chowder House Cafe
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Tatamagouche
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Delicous”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Well we tried the Chowder House Café as we heard their have been some changes so we thought we would try it again ...

The food was very good , The seafood chowder was absolutely delicious .... large pieces of seafood and the broth was flavourful and had the right consistency .... yummy

Fish and Chip were lightly battered, crisp ! pleasant surprise from the greasy fish I had at other establishments in the area.

The staff were pleasant and helpful in making recommendations.


Keep up the great work ....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    37
    19
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very welcome surprise!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recommended by a co-worker I stopped into this quaint cafe for lunch. Known for their seafood, I ordered the battered fish with a side caesar salad. Place was busy for lunch but was served promptly, beverage served with ice and a smile.

While waiting for food, a quick glance gives off a very warm atmosphere. Neutral colors and tile floors allows them to pull off a very clean cafe look but with a few candles at night could very easily be turned into a fine dining establishment.

Although I didnt use, there is also a an outdoor deck with full service.

Fool arrives, fish done perfecly, crisp and not over battered fish was not dry and flaked perfectly. Moist and delicious. Salad may have been sitting for a few minutes longer than should have as lettuce was starting to soften, but the flavour was great. Just the right amount of bite for a caesar.

Made the mistake of ordering 2 pieces, 1 would have done it, but so good had to finish. It'll be worth the few extra minutes on the treadmill tonight.

Menu was varied with a good mix for those looking to experiment while fully stocked with the basics for the kids.

Prices were great, out the door for less than $20 tip in for lunch.

Fresh, fun, great atmosphere and service. Definately the place to stop if you're in Tatamagouche.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fish n chips”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had really good fish n chips here when we were on vacation this week. Big pieces if fish at a pretty good price. Quick friendly service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ohearnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Surprise! You don't know what to expect!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

As a group we collectively expected a "woody, pub atmosphere" and walked in thinking we were in a quaint diner. You are not. You are dining in an exceptionally clean and very well run seafood restaurant. With a completely bar list. You do not have a bar to sit at, so it throws off the initial thought. The seafood is cooked to perfection, the prices are reasonable and the service very good. Chowder House cafe is quaint and quiet. A real delight!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tpchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shediac
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stopped for a late lunch, looked at the menu, I asked the girl behind the counter if they had seafood casserole, she said yes, it's just called something else "seafood bake", so we thought, why not. We went and sat outside, she saw us go out with the menu, she didn't bother coming out, after 10 minutes or more my husband had to go get her, she was on the phone. We both ordered the seafood bake, she said it came with rice and described it as really good with lots of spices such, ya, right. What it was was there seafood chowder in a shallow dish with some cheese tossed on top and backed, it was watery, not creamy, and the rice was horrible, dry, and clumped, we pointed it out, all she said was sorry, and left. When I went in to pay the bill, she didn't ask if everything else was ok, didn't offer to take a small amount off the bill (my plate was still full of the rice and mushy veggies), she just said thanks, so I asked, did you mention the rice problem to the chef at least, she said, oh yes, they're going to change it, I have no idea what that means. I paid the bill, and tipped, and left, never going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder House Cafe also viewed

 
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia
 
Wallace, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Chowder House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing