We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spry Bay Campground is the place to be.... fresh air, sunsets, friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spry Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spry Bay Campground
Maitland, NS
1 review
“Spry Bay Campground is the place to be.... fresh air, sunsets, friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked in for the May long weekend and stayed! decided it was perfect for us. not too big. lots of personal space. level sites. clean washrooms. very, very clean pool. great little camp store. excellent pizzas. and Avelene's home baking is a great treat. The grounds are well kept up. playground equipment for the kids. and they are still working on more. Danielle and Avelene are great hosts... friendly, helpful and always busy. I definetly recommend this campground. although it is not on the beach, Taylor Head beach is only 5 minutes away.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Esther W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I spent the long weekend at Spry Bay campground and although the weather was not the greatest we has a great time at the campground. We spent the weekend in one of the cozy cabins. Our cabin was very clean and comfortable. The grounds, washrooms and entire place was very clean.

To the owners Avelene and Danielle thank you very much for making our stay so enjoyable. You could not ask for two better owners, they will bend over backwards to make sure you enjoy your stay. “Go moose Go” thank you for making sure I got to see my boys play!

We will 100% be back this summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

One of the best campgrounds we have ever been to. Great secluded sites with fire pits, a picturesque beach 2 minutes away, wonderful fresh baking goods and pizza at the main store, and a well kept pool. The sites were very well kept as were the washroom/shower areas. The new owners seem to have done a lot to make this a great place to stay!! We'll be going back!!!

Room Tip: Take a look at all the sites. There is something for everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverlyWkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

These other reviews are out of date. Avelene and Danielle bought this place in 2010 and sounds like they have done lots of work. It's only 90 minutes from Halifax so easy to reach. We really liked our site (#20) which was close to the very clean toilet/shower building. Short walk to store and cafe with wifi. Only 23$ for a tent site. Best cinnamon rolls we have ever had...from their on site bakery. The welcome and hospitality are warm and genuine. Avelene and Danielle are lovely. Hope we can get back this summer.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

In sept. 2009 we had made reservations to stay at this campground, when we arrived were we surprised or I should say disappointed, the picnic tables were rotten actually fallilng apart, the washrooms were a total disaster, pool was something that had not been used or updated in a few years, this whole campground would need a total overhaul before I would consider going back or recommending it, and if I did go back it would just be to take a peek, needless to say we didnt stay there we left and continued up the road to Murphy's campground and what a beautiful place that was.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpryBayCampground, Owner at Spry Bay Campground, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Just an update; Spry Bay Campground has been under new ownership since January 2010; we have done tremendous improvements to the premises (Restaurant, store & campground). We now have a clean, renovated campground waiting for people to enjoy on their way to or from Cape Breton. The Eastern Shore is a great place to visit and stay for a while; so when are you coming?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Glen and Linda are very helpful, friendly and seem willing to go out of their way to accommodate campers. However, the campground itself needs tidying up. For example, the picnic tables/playground equipment need to be painted, the washrooms were not super clean (particularly the showers), the gate to the pool was falling off its hinges. Some general clean up was in order. That being said the lots were fairly large and some were nicely treed. Had we not had reservations we would have kept driving by as the "curb appeal" was practically non-existent. We would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tootsie456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2003

My husband and I found this campground out of the blue. We were driving along the eastern shore of Nova Scotia, last week, (Oct.8-15/03) in the early evening and it was dark already, to be honest we really didn't know where we were or how far we were from the nearest town, so we pulled into this campground for directions. The owner Glen told us that it was at least another 4 hours to were we were going and although he was closed for the season, he had a cabin we could rent for the night if we wanted it. The cabin was fantastic, brand new, a double bed, a heater to warm the cabin up, a couch, a table big enough for 2 people, they even provided an alarm clock! This campground has everything, a swimming pool, minature golf,laundromat, firepits, wood, deli, resturant, wonderful clean washrooms, showers, a bakery, pool table, and a convience store. We cannot say enough about this place and its reasonable rates. The owners are just the nicest, helpful people I have come across in a long time. We are planning to go again next year and take our Daughter and Son-in-law and the two grandchildren . Oh and the scenery is just unbeleiveable. Wonderful!

Helpful?
7 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spry Bay
6.4 mi away
Fairwinds Motel & Restaurant
Fairwinds Motel & Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Sheet Harbour
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
22.2 mi away
Jeddore Lodge and Cabins B&B
Jeddore Lodge and Cabins B&B
#2 of 3 in Head of Jeddore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
22.0 mi away
Salmon River Country Inn
Salmon River Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Head of Jeddore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
No photo provided
E&F Webber's Lakeside Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Charlotte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
22.0 mi away
Serenety by the Sea
Serenety by the Sea
#1 of 1 in Head of Jeddore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spry Bay Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spry Bay Campground

Property: Spry Bay Campground
Address: 19867 Highway #7, Spry Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 3H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Spry Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Spry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not all about camping! When you come to stay at Spry Bay Campground you have access to services like convenience store, pizzeria, laundromat, cabins, suites, tent sites, RV sites, pool, playground; nearby beaches & hiking trails, fishing and lots of nature... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spry Bay Campground Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing