We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Lunch!”

Clove Hitch Bar & Bistro
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Port Hood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a family owned business priding ourselves on fresh local cuisine at an affordable price. Our modern inviting setting includes a deck with an ocean view. We feature many seafood options as well as daily lunch and dinner specials, Steak 'n Stein, Ladies' Night, breakfast on Sundays, cocktails, local beer on tap and so much more. Local musicians perform on stage on a regular basis.
Michigan
Level Contributor
497 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Upon the recommendation from the young woman at the Galloping Cow gift shop, we stopped at the Clove Hitch for lunch, sitting outside on their nice patio. The sandwich selection was interesting, and quite delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acedaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    45
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hawkesbury, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Menu is fantastic and service was great. Unfortunately, it was too cold and windy to sit outside and the air conditioning inside was a little too loud.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdhbdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on our way north from the Canso Causeway to Mabou. After a drive through Port Hood where we stopped to look at the lovely church and beach, the Clove Hitch provided a welcome break. Although it was very quiet, we were made to feel very welcome and our waiter did a very good job of looking after us without being too visible. We both chose the seafood chowder which was the best we had during an 11-day trip around Cape Breton. It was packed with delicious lobster, prawns and fish with only a small amount of potato and the broth was full of flavour. Our waiter even went to the trouble of giving me some information relating to a conversation we had about till systems for which I was very grateful. Highly recommend stopping here if you are passing Port Hood.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Winkie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“June 18/2014 JEANETTE AND REBECCA ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and the boys attended the Hitch tonight. Jeanette and Rebecca were great with our crew. Service was excellent and food was a little bit better!
Good times.... Thanks much.

Helpful?
Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I experience the best deep fried fish ever. Not only was it gluten free, it was cooked to perfection and served with the most mouth watering homemade tarter sauce.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Campbell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clove Hitch Bar & Bistro also viewed

Mabou, Cape Breton Island
Port Hood, Cape Breton Island
 
Port Hood, Cape Breton Island
Port Hood, Cape Breton Island
 
Inverness, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Clove Hitch Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing