We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a try” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clove Hitch Bar & Bistro

Clove Hitch Bar & Bistro
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Port Hood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a family owned business priding ourselves on fresh local cuisine at an affordable price. Our modern inviting setting includes a deck with an ocean view. We feature many seafood options as well as daily lunch and dinner specials, Steak 'n Stein, Ladies' Night, breakfast on Sundays, cocktails, local beer on tap and so much more. Local musicians perform on stage on a regular basis.
Shelburne, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth a try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Fell upon this place on the back end of a busy Sunday lunch at Labour Day weekend. Very friendly and efficient staff in a modern cafe/bistro style establishment. Lots of local families there - always a good sign. My wife and I both had the chicken pasta - which was excellent. Good sized portions and $13 - well worth a visit. thank you guys. Phil & Rita Shelburne NS

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank philandrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    45
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“STOP HERE !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Travelling on Hwy 19 N to Cape Bretton National Park or to Cabot Links in Inverness amke this your lunch location. Do not drive by, STOP HERE. When you see a lot full of cars at a Bistro that bear the local license plate you want to ask yourself why. Perhaps the answer is in the tasting. The seafood chowder is a must have on this menu and so take the bowl over the cup although both are full of tasty chunks of seafood. The lobster salad is generously served on a hamburger bun and is cooked to perfection. The staff are friendly and effiecient although sometimes hard to track down when you need something else. But the Bistro is very busy and they have to feed us all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank garebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clove Hitch - no R!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This small restaurant is a real find on a road without too many options. It shares a building with a gift shop, but it should stand out on its own. We were desperate for lunch and pulled in hoping for a plain sandwich. What we got was a great lobster sandwich with fresh salad and a snazzy chocolate dessert. Nice music, upscale feel and friendly service. I would go back for dinner if it weren't about 700 miles away!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Birdwalk48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Went with a group of 6, I had the seafood linguine. The linguine was excellent, lots of shrimp, lobster and scallops. Everyone ate something different and everyone liked their meals. I would recommend getting the sweet potatoe fries instead of the hand cut fries (soggy hand cut fries). Service was a little slow, took about 20 minutes to get our drinks. Overall it was nice we will return to the Clover Hitch Bar, check out Port Hood if you get a chance, it has a beautiful beach that goes for miles.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blufforbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clove Hitch Bar & Bistro also viewed

Port Hood, Cape Breton Island
Mabou, Cape Breton Island
 
Port Hood, Cape Breton Island
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 
Port Hood, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Clove Hitch Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing