We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
74
59
34
14
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
59
34
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape bretonfish and chipsdining roomcabot trailrestaurant mealquiet spotwine glassesportion sizebeautiful locationlobstertwo nightsa great stayone night staycabinbuoysaccommodationspicnic
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 182 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We picked this Motel after reading the reviews. What a mistake! The cabin smelled of cat urine and we were told it was from this new disinfectant their were using, yeah right!
The restaurant was way over priced and the service was incredibly slow...it took them 10 minutes to set a table for 5, not because it was busy, it was empty except for two other tables. I realize things slow down on the east coast, been there many times, but that was ridiculous. The only thing this place has going for it is the location, beautiful views. Next time, I think we'll stay in Baddeck.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioLovetofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I did not know that quality Mom and Pop motels even existed anymore. This place was great. Rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and roomy. I think I got the best night's sleep ever on their comfortable bed. The attached restaurant has the best food in Nova Scotia and the front desk staff treated us like family. The Motel sits on a point in the river and the grounds are neatly manicured with benches and a wonderful view. For our trip next year, I am going to book this Motel first and then build my trip around it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilot7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We had a great one-night stay at the Cove. Everyone was delightful and helpful. The restaurant right on the water with a view of the causeway was probably the only "waterfront" rstaurant we found in the area.

The food was good with excellent service.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank not2woryluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We arrived at the Canso Causeway late on a drizzly, rainy Monday, and decided not to camp for the night. The Tourist Bureau found us a cabin at the Cove Motel. The cabin was very clean, beds comfortable, decor rather rustic. Staff was friendly and helpful, and as an extra surprise, the restaurant seafood was gourmet quality.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateNepean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We were on our way to Baddeck to tour the Cabot Trail on motorcycles, and we were behind schedule because of the rainy weather. It was beginning to get dark and we needed a place to stay for the night. We seen the sign for the Cove Motel and decided to stop. What a treat it was, the ladies at the front desk were especially helpful, even though the restaurant was closed at this time of night, they called the local pizza place to find out if they would deliver for us.
We were travelling as 2 couples and got 2 rooms side by side with a beautiful view of the water. The rooms were immaculately clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The bedding, the carpeting and even some of the furniture seemed to be brand new. We were very comfortable, and believe me, we are quite picky about clean hotel rooms. In the morning, we had breakfast in the restaurant, again with a beautiful view of the water. Even though breakfast isn't included in the room price, it was well worth the extra. Both the service and the food were fantastic!
This stop turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip to the maritimes. After travelling for almost 3 days on the bikes, this stop was a pleasurel! If we had the time, we would have stopped again on our return trip, but were not able.
We would definitely recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOG-dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews