We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
75
60
34
14
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
60
34
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape breton cabot trail fish and chips dining room quiet spot wine glasses family wedding attached restaurant beautiful location clean rooms lobster two nights bit dated one night stay causeway canso cabin
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 184 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We recently stayed here on the recommendation of another traveller we met in Wolfville. Although the restaurant serves a great meal, the motel is definitely overpriced ($108/night) -- no breakfast available (not even coffee). Room smelled of disinfectant -- and we found many bugs in the bathroom -- upon arrival at 4 p.m. and again in the morning when we got up. If you are heading to the Cabot Trail...I would recommend continuing one more hour to Baddeck and stay at the Telegraph Inn -- rates were cheaper and it included breakfast.

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank samriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

Wanting to do the famous Cape Breton Cabot Trail over the weekend, we
looked for an easy to find, comfortable motel close to the causeway for Friday night, allowing us an early start Saturday morning. There are various motels around the entrance to Cape Breton but during my online search I found a mention of the Cove from a few years back. The guy raved about this motel, said he liked it so much, they returned to stay again on the return trip. I have to agree. If you have a choice, go for the Cove. it is literally at the waters edge and close enough for you to count cars over the Canso Causeway, without hearing the traffic.

The room was fairly basic, a definite lack of electricity sockets, and the walls thin. We could hear every word next door but my experience tells me that if you stay in a motel, that's what to expect!

The beauty of the Cove is the view (apart from the flashing pylon but
that wasn't a problem anyway) and the lovely nautical dining room serving superb food at reasonable prices. I heard that in the summer you can watch pilot whales at play throught the window of the restaurant and I can believe it. Another useful service for guests who use this as a base - a guest laundromat!Very pretty little motel,
lovely food, well priced. I would stay again.

Date of stay: October 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EagleAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews