We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's alright nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cove Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cove Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Hastings
Winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's alright nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here at the end of the season, We didn't expect any frilles and thats what we got. Rooms were dated and bathrooms definitely need some TLC . You can tell that not much reinvestment goes on here. Fairly clean but not much else. If you're looking for mediocrity this is your place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppadocWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    48
    31
    11
    1
See reviews for
49
67
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock Ontario
Level Contributor
184 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

the lobster meals are the best in the area, the other seafood cooked to perfection every time. We go there five to six times a year when visiting family in the area. Servers are friendly and efficient and never rush. We were there this past weekend the day before they closed for the season Half priced entrees thought I had died and gone to heaven mussels scallops seafood chowder a smoked salmon club, it was a good thing i was driving back to Ontario i could hardly walk.

These folks make there money for the year in a very short time so prices are a little high but well worth it. The view is perfect very relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungrywatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We arrived here without a reservation; the property looked very well kept, as did the office. The front desk clerk was friendly and helpful, but when we asked to see the chalet with a king bed that was available we were told she could neither leave the desk nor give us a key. She then told us how lovely the rooms were, that they are rated 3.5 stars and that the owners are very picky. It was getting dark out and we decided to take a chance, since the place seemed clean and very well kept, even though $130 was a splurge on this particular trip.

Wish we'd kept on going. I'm uploading a few photos to give potential visitors a look at the chalet that warranted a $130 price tag. I took more, including ones of the hairs in the bathtub, but they're impossible to see clearly.

If dark and dingy is appealing, this chalet has it all, in spades. I will say that the bedding and pillows were high quality and very clean. The mattress was obviously quite new but it was as hard as a rock - my hip hurt the next day (I'm a side sleeper). The bathroom was gross, and there was dust and debris around baseboards and corners in the main room. The small refrigerator in the room made a loud humming noise off and on all night, and surprise! when I went to pour the complementary, in-room coffee the next morning, I discovered that both mugs were dirty. Ick.

I was quite disappointed with myself that I was suckered into staying in such a depressing accommodation that was not clean - I usually check thoroughly before picking a place to stay - for example the night before this we stayed at the Kelly View motel in Cape Breton - and it lived up to the glowing reviews I'd read on Trip Advisor - ultra clean, very comfortable, and moderately priced.

I guess it's really my own fault - we dropped our luggage off, took a quick look around and went to find dinner. It wasn't until after we returned that I went into the bathroom. Lesson learned.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a chalet - I don't know if the motel rooms have been renovated or cleaned properl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkhhMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Everything is cheap quality but the price (peak vacation season). Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Room was clean but old and dated. "Water View" was used as a selling point but it is nothing special i.e. no boats going by, no lapping waves, no beach - more like a river as you can see across to the other side.
No breakfast included in the price. Seafood served in the restaurant was pricey. Avoid the seafood casserole - too much cheese.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Retired28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
work
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We ended up at the Cove Motel by mistake. We had a reservation at the Maritime Inn in Antigonish; unfortunately, someone input our arrival date incorrectly and they had expected us on the 12th instead of the 21st which was when our reservation had been confirmed for. They had no more rooms so the girl at the desk found us a room at the Cove Motel about 30 minutes from Antigonish (fortunately, in the direction we were going anyway!). It was an average motel - had recently been redecorated and was neat and clean. The room did smell fairly strongly of cleaning liquid. The person at the desk was very nice. There was a good restaurant on site. The motel sits right out on the water with a very nice view from the restaurant. There are both motel rooms and small cabins - we stayed in the main motel. I found hotel rooms to be quite expensive in Nova Scotia - I checked afterwards on price for Cove Motel which was less than most I saw. The "3" rating should not be taken as a negative - its a well kept up motel and a good deal for the money. I woud certainly consider staying again for the location and price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scooterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Our group of 6 motorcycles and 9 people stayed here for 2 nights while we explored Cape Breton. Rooms were clean, water hot, beds comfy.
Food at the restaurant was excellent, alittle expensive but very good. For those who don't really eat breakfast, maybe muffins or buns included in the price would be a thought.
Having the laundry there was a big thing also, a 10 day trip on a bike means at some point you have to wash clothes.
Location and grounds are lovely and the staff very helpful. Even had a place for us to wash our bikes, rags available.
After looking at our bills back home, the price is about normal for the time frame.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Had a good experience at this motel. The rooms need updating, but were clean and comfortable. The restaurant was excellent, friendly service with a great view. Had dinner and breakfast, really enjoyed both.

An added bonus to this stop was several whale sightings from outside our room when we arrived, and during breakfast the next day, sweet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotlerRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hastings
0.0 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
0.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Motel

Property: Cove Motel
Address: Highway 104 Auld's Cove | Canso Causeway, Port Hastings, Nova Scotia B9A 3R7, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Hastings
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Cove Hotel Port Hastings
Cove Motel Port Hastings, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing