We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip the Water View” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cove Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cove Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Hastings
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Skip the Water View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Everything is cheap quality but the price (peak vacation season). Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Room was clean but old and dated. "Water View" was used as a selling point but it is nothing special i.e. no boats going by, no lapping waves, no beach - more like a river as you can see across to the other side.
No breakfast included in the price. Seafood served in the restaurant was pricey. Avoid the seafood casserole - too much cheese.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Retired28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    48
    31
    11
    1
See reviews for
49
67
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
work
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We ended up at the Cove Motel by mistake. We had a reservation at the Maritime Inn in Antigonish; unfortunately, someone input our arrival date incorrectly and they had expected us on the 12th instead of the 21st which was when our reservation had been confirmed for. They had no more rooms so the girl at the desk found us a room at the Cove Motel about 30 minutes from Antigonish (fortunately, in the direction we were going anyway!). It was an average motel - had recently been redecorated and was neat and clean. The room did smell fairly strongly of cleaning liquid. The person at the desk was very nice. There was a good restaurant on site. The motel sits right out on the water with a very nice view from the restaurant. There are both motel rooms and small cabins - we stayed in the main motel. I found hotel rooms to be quite expensive in Nova Scotia - I checked afterwards on price for Cove Motel which was less than most I saw. The "3" rating should not be taken as a negative - its a well kept up motel and a good deal for the money. I woud certainly consider staying again for the location and price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scooterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Our group of 6 motorcycles and 9 people stayed here for 2 nights while we explored Cape Breton. Rooms were clean, water hot, beds comfy.
Food at the restaurant was excellent, alittle expensive but very good. For those who don't really eat breakfast, maybe muffins or buns included in the price would be a thought.
Having the laundry there was a big thing also, a 10 day trip on a bike means at some point you have to wash clothes.
Location and grounds are lovely and the staff very helpful. Even had a place for us to wash our bikes, rags available.
After looking at our bills back home, the price is about normal for the time frame.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Had a good experience at this motel. The rooms need updating, but were clean and comfortable. The restaurant was excellent, friendly service with a great view. Had dinner and breakfast, really enjoyed both.

An added bonus to this stop was several whale sightings from outside our room when we arrived, and during breakfast the next day, sweet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotlerRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had a fantastic experience at the Cove Motel. Our room was clean, the staff friendly, and the location beautiful. We ate four meals in the restaurant because it was so delicious. I highly recommend the salmon cakes. We even saw some whales from the dining hall while having breakfast. I am 20 and was traveling with two 80+ year olds and none of us had a single complaint. Definitely stay here if you have the chance!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Clean hotel, very friendly staff, picturesque. Needs updating, and not necessarily worth the $109 and $99 we paid as the "off-season" rates (not much to choose from by way of accomodations in these parts, so I suppose this is how they get away with it). The sign on the road states "Rooms Starting at $89" - which are these? They also advertise "free wifi", but don't count on it. Signal is weak, at best, and so unable to connect. Walls are paper thin, so pray for quiet neighbours!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Morne National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
406 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 597 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed in one of the cabins the cabins are showing thier age and not worth the $115.00 CAA rate or 125.00 with out this was in the off season, 2nd week of october should be around 89.00 would be fair at this time of year.The dresser and sitting table has a lousy TV that you had to jiggle to get it to work a lamp,telephone, coffee pot so you have nowhere to put a lap top or little else.A lap top table from Canadian tire for 20.00$ would be nice. The cove cabins are pet friendly which is great. the washrooms are small and have a funny lean to the building as it has settled over the years and never repaired.The staff at checkin was great the WiFi didnt work in the morning!! but it is in a beutiful location but @115.00 a night + TAX is pricey and maybe we will have to look around on our next trip for other accomadations. The resturant was a huge disapointment and will be reviewed seperatly

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greyhoundlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hastings
0.0 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
0.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Motel

Property: Cove Motel
Address: Highway 104 Auld's Cove | Canso Causeway, Port Hastings, Nova Scotia B9A 3R7, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Hastings
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Cove Hotel Port Hastings
Cove Motel Port Hastings, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing