We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleanliness in question”
Review of Skye Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skye Lodge
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cleanliness in question”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here in January as i was headed to Baddeck the next day and it was the first place i saw that was still open at 10pm. The check in was very easy however the room was FREEZING as the heat wasn't on and it took all night to heat the room up when i did turn it on. The carpet was stained and the floor was spongy and very cold so i left my shoes on. I agree the beds were lumpy or soft. there was obvious water damage in the ceiling seams in the room as well as the wall paper was peeling off the walls. The Bathroom was well lite so i could see black mold around the outside of the tub and long black hairs in the tub itself. It was a very dated room and smelled musty. I would only stay here again IF if was the only place open and cold outside. Overall not a very enjoyable experience

Room Tip: Arrive earlier and look for another place to stay in the town itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chef006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    7
    8
    16
See reviews for
8
13
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here one night Oct 26th. No reservation just showed up. Easy check in, no credit card drama and deposit BS. Paid the money went to our room. The room was very dated and the cleanliness level was just ok. The beds not so comfortable but enough to make due. Cable tv with few channels, WIFI worked fine for us. Towels were clean and easy to come by. Lock was broken on door and curtains didnt really close well, But heat and AC worked fine. Room smelled of cleaning supplies and paint.
Overall I wouldnt choose this as a first choice hotel but if your just travelling and need a place to crash , its quick easy and under $100.00

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda_reid08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Hastings hotels

Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Beds are horrible, experience not good. Was not a good way to start our Cabot Trail experience. On a brighter note everything got better as we went along for accommodation and food! So I guess I have to keep on typing to get my comment posted, it wasn't long enough. Not easy to write for long about bad experience!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bourgeois97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nothing special about this motel - just a place to sleep. Well lit outside where you're parked. Inside is passable, beds were small and somewhat uncomfortable. Bathroom was clean. Fridge hadn't been plugged in for awhile and when we opened the door to chill something inside there was a foul odor. Location is decent (depending on your plan for the Cabot Trail) - it's right after you get off the causeway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The bed was not one bit comfortable, the box spring is falling apart. I don't think that the corners of the room or behind the furniture has been cleaned in a very long time. Wrappers, dust bunnies, and dirt behind the sofa, tables, and desks. For sure not worth the $ that it costs to stay here. The bathroom was clean if you don't count the body hair belonging to somebody else all over the place and if you don't count the toilet seat falling off not once but twice while using it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC10430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Deutschland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This Motel is next to a busy street and thus loud. It is located at the entrance of the Cabot Trail. The sheets are are dirty. Just in some rooms a microwave and fridge are present. Wifi did not work in my room (123). The bathroom is rather clean but needs some renovation. No good value for money. A continental breakfast can be ordered separately.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocDanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hastings
3.3 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
24.7 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
15.9 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Capeway Motel
Capeway Motel
#3 of 3 in Port Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
#3 of 5 in Port Hawkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
25.8 mi away
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Peter's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skye Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skye Lodge

Property: Skye Lodge
Address: 160 Highway 4, Port Hastings, Nova Scotia B9A 1M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hastings
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Port Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Skye Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Skye Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skye Lodge Port Hastings, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing