We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing like being ignored!”

Glooscap Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Parrsboro
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing like being ignored!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I took my mother and 2 children out for supper on our last day of vacation. My youngest who is 10 picked the glooscap for the restaurant. It was roughly 6pm and they were really not busy at all. When we walked on we were not able to find a clean table to accommodate the 4 of us so ended up sitting at a dirty table. We waited waited at least least 10 minutes while one waitress chatted to a couple other guests and not once did she let us know she'd be over soon. While we were waiting a couple came in and took a seat. The waitress then finished her socializing and went to the couple who had just sat down to give them menus while STILL completely ignoring us. Once she gave them their menus she proceed to go behind the bar bar and chit chat with another waitress. By this point we still have not even had our table cleaned yet let alone given a menu! After watching the waitresses socialize for 5 minutes i figured our business wasn't important. We left and the table still wasn't cleaned. we went to the Harbour view restaurant on the beach and will continue to do so any time I'm back in parrsboro because at at least there we got service! and damn good service and food too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FatalBlueEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    21
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good food, Great service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went to the Thursday wing night at the Glooscap Restaurant. The were the best I have ever tried. I don't normally eat this kind of finger food, but am glad I did. Will definitly try them again the next time .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank meltastic_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable lunch here”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stopped here for "brunch" on a VERY rainy weekday. Greeted by Mrs. Haley, one of the owners; met her husband, Ken, on the way out. Small world - she is related to somebody we know in our home city of Peterborough, Ontario. The service was excellent, the food hot and tasty, and the coffee fresh. Really not sure what the Springhill reviewer encountered to prompt such negative comments, but we will DEFINITELY come back here on our next trip east, AND make it a regular eatery when we move to NS in a couple of years.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springhill, NS
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Manners and food a no show”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Today myself and 5 ladies from our church were in Parrsboro for a Pilgrimage and had planned to finish our day with a meal at the Gloosecap Restaurant. We arrived at 5:15 seated ourselves and were handed menus very quickly. We placed our orders, received our drinks and began our wait. The place wasn't too busy when we entered, Approx.15 minutes afterwards a party of 7 took the table behind us, 15 minutes after this another party of 3 entered. Two of our ladies had ordered appetizers. After 40 minutes we asked about our appetizers and received an "Oh" from the waitress. I had also asked for a glass for my drink that was served in a can with a straw, never did arrive, We had only asked about our order after we had noticed the party of 7 had been served their meal. Very shortly after we see the party of 3 receive their meal and still no food to us. We called over the girl that had served us and mentioned that the others were served before us and we had been waiting for quite some time. She shrugged and said "It happens" and walked away. We could not believe the attitude and poor service. We all stood, told her to cancel the order, we were leaving and walked out the door. We then went to a wonderful place on the shoreline called the Beach Restaurant. We told them of our experience. Their service was extremely fast and the food was great. This was not our first visit to the Gloosecap but it was definitely the last.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CACSpringhill_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“simply delicious”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A friendly place to go with friends and family where the food is so fresh and delicious! Have the seafood, it's a must!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire_Filion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glooscap Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Parrsboro, Nova Scotia
 
Parrsboro, Nova Scotia

Been to Glooscap Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing