We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not return” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glooscap Restaurant & Lounge

Glooscap Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Parrsboro
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Would not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

There aren't many places to dine in Parrsboro and since there were always several cars in the parking lot we decided to stop here on our way back to our B&B from Advocate Harbour. This really is a local place and it seemed like everyone there knew each other and were happy with their meals. Not so for us! My husband ordered the fish burger which was all breading and very greasy tasting. I ordered the lasagna and it tasted ok but it was not what I would call lasagna....more like goulash...meat, lasagna noodles and sauce.....no ricotta cheese to be found! I could not eat the side salad I ordered. It was covered with artificial bacon bits and the dressing tasted like plain mayonnaise. The waitress who only came back long after we had finished eating asked if there was something wrong when she saw our unfinished meals but never tried to make any adjustments. I generally only do reviews of places that I like, but since I rely on these reviews I have to be honest. I definitely would not return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AngieSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    21
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, NS
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were traveling through the area & stopped in for a quick bite to eat. We chose a "booth" to sit at. The table was a folding table like you'd see at a flea market or something.....interesting :( Since it was late afternoon we decided just to order a couple appetizers to tie us over until supper. We ordered garlic bread with cheese & nachos. The garlic bread was ok but the nachos were the smallest portion of nachos I have ever seen for $10! Generally a plate of nachos is more than enough to feed a couple but these were without a doubt the cheapest looking order of nachos I have ever eaten. Both my boyfriend & myself were extremely disappointed by not only the size but the nachos themselves, nothing great. Definitely would not make a repeat appearance at this establishment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

A group of 30 of us went for dinner there and they handled it like pros. The food was great, big portions and well made.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KeltieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Platter!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great seafood platter-lots of variety and portion size was great, delicious milkshake, awesome nachos! Servers were excellent! Would come back again if we were in the area!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScottieDog8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathrow, Florida
1 review
“An excellent review for an excellent lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

My Nova Scotia hiking adventure took a sudden unexpected turn and I found myself in Parrsboro. I discovered this restaurant on my quest to find wi-fi. Of course they had wi-fi... they rock. This is a family restaurant and lounge. It is not a five-star, fine-dining, exclusive cafe or up scale anything. It is a locally owned and run restaurant. If you are out for the local culture and a real Nova Scotia food experience, this place is a must! Every employee I spoke with was pleasant, cordial and knowledgable about the food they serve. The service was executed with a smile and timely. I inquired about local beers and the server informed me that most locals prefer Keith's. I responded, "I will have one of those!" and a good brew it was... for sure. We chatted for a while and she informed me of the local "to see's" and "time wasters." It was moderately busy but the staff was patient and cool. I ordered the fried clams and they were perfect... locally harvested and weren't gritty, chewy or greasy! Some of the staff actually sat down to talk to me. Some of the nicest people I've met so far in Canada. The next time I take a road-trip or adventure, I will definitely stop back by. Two thumbs up from the "PhillicleFile" you can find me on G+, Facebook, Twitter and just about everywhere else. :D

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillicleFile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glooscap Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Parrsboro, Nova Scotia
 
Parrsboro, Nova Scotia

Been to Glooscap Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing