We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gillespie House Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Parrsboro B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2009

My husband and I ended our honeymoon here after spending a week on PEI. We found the inn to be just as advertised...clean, well kept with yummy foods and helpful hints about the area. The building and grounds are beautiful, the room was comfortable and spacious and the innkeeper was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our short visit to the area and would stay here again if we were ever in Parrsboro again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainMooses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 96 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2008

Myself and my sister spent a night in this beautiful B&B. The house is beautiful, set back from the road, with a little old church tucked in beside it. There is a lovely porch all around the front and chairs out on the lawn to sit and watch the sun go down.

The bedroom was lovely, twin beds, lovely bed linen and a nice bright bathroom.

We were the only guests when we arrived as the season was ending but by morning there were 4 other people tucking into a lovely fresh breakfast.

A lovely B&B in Parrsboro.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Eimes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We booked tickets for Ship's Company and stayed overnight at the Gillespie House. This is a first rate Bed and Breakfast venue with wonderful furnishings, first quality comfortable beds and, contrary to an old review, no country kitch. The decor was beautifully done, the chairs out front offered cool, green shade and the gardens were a delight. The nearby antique Catholic Church also added to the ambience. The owner greeted us warmly and showed our rooms. The front porch was awesome and the breakfast was custom ordered and delicious. This B & B is a great value for money and will will return many times for other plays and warm evenings on the front porch with our traveling companions.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chellyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

We had a lovely stay at the Gillespie House Inn. The house is beautiful and decorated very tastefully. The hosts were very accomadating, certainly very friendly and were eager to share information and their affection for the Parrsboro area. Our room was comfortable with a perfect bed and high quality linens. Also, I might add spotlessly clean.

In the past we have had bad experiences with other B&Bs but our stay at the Gillespie House Inn certainly restored our faith in this type of accomadation.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2005

Handsome house, conveniently located -- but. Greeted at the door by a gentleman who said "The owner is out." Showed us to our room, gave us the key, and said, "Here is your room." That was it. (Most places we've stayed will provide a cup of tea, a brief chat and offer to answer any questions). Room decor rather "cutesy." Extremely slippery floors, furnished with scatter rugs! (Senior citizens and others with balance problems, beware!!) Nice breakfast. Overall atmosphere rather stiff and remote. We were uncomfortable. Maybe we caught them at a bad time.

Stayed: August 2004
7  Thank lovemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19ulla50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parrsboro
0.4 mi away
The Maple Inn
The Maple Inn
#2 of 7 in Parrsboro
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Parrsboro Mansion Inn
The Parrsboro Mansion Inn
#1 of 7 in Parrsboro
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Evangeline's Tower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Sunshine Inn
The Sunshine Inn
#1 of 1 in Parrsboro
60 reviews
17.9 mi away
Farmhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast
20.1 mi away
No photo provided
Silver House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Lower Economy
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillespie House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillespie House Inn

Address: 358 Main Street, Parrsboro, Nova Scotia B0M 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Parrsboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Parrsboro
Price Range: $112 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gillespie House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gillespie House Inn is an award winning, 41/2 star Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of Parrsboro, Nova Scotia on the shores of the Bay of Fundy. The Inn offers 7 well appointed guest rooms, all with private ensuite bath. Area activities include hiking, kayaking, gem and fossil collecting, boat tours, fine dining, professional theatre and concerts, golf and horseback riding. Check our many packages for one stop shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Gillespie House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gillespie House Inn Parrsboro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing