We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gillespie House Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Sunshine Inn(Parrsboro)(Great Value!)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greensboro Inn(New Minas)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slumber Inn(New Minas)
$94
$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn - Amherst(Amherst)(Great Value!)
$106
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
78
16
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
16
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsfront porchb bnova scotiathe ownerbreakfast was excellentwatch the sunwould definitely stay here againstayed two nightscomfortable bedplace to staylovely rooma great stayenjoyed our staybistrocapeperiod
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 97 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We travelled to Parrsboro to see the play at the Ships Company Theatre and stayed for the David Myles concert, both great value for the money. We stayed at Gillespie House and dined at the Black Rock Bistro. Hosts Lori and David welcome you to the Inn as do Abbey and Piper, the two sweet dogs who are most anxious give you a warm welcome. The rooms at the Inn are tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The beds are so comfortable and the town very quiet, making it so easy to enjoy a good nights sleep. Breakfast..pancakes or french toast or eggs and an assortment of fruit and yoghurt was filling enough to last till dinner! AND...if you do go to Parrsboro check out the new Black Rock Bistro. It also gets top marks for an interesting and varied menu at reasonable prices. Check out this wonderful part of the world and all it has to offer. You will not be sorry.

Room Tip: All rooms are large with ensuite baths...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judyonthego1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillespiehouseinn, Owner at Gillespie House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Gillespie House and Ship's Company Theatre with others. It is always nice to see you at Gillespie House, and we hope to see you here again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Gillespie House during a trip to Nova Scotia. We only planned to stay one night but were so happy with our room and the hospitality that we stayed three nights. Breakfasts were delicious and ample and we enjoyed meeting other guests and comparing travel experiences. The owners were welcoming and gracious, and the inn itself was lovely, a beautiful old house lovingly restored. We missed our dog so enjoyed saying hello to the two friendly dogs.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Betsy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A friendly greeting by the dogs at the back deck followed by a cheerful welcome from Lori and David make this B&B like coming home. Beautiful Nova Scotia inspired decor and comfortable beds inside a period mansion. Parrsboro is an undiscovered gem in Nova Scotia and the Inn is walking distance to the quaint shops in the town like the Sweet Brier Boutique. Lori and David are fantastic hosts and have expanded their hospitality to a new Bistro and Wine Bar in town called the Black Rock. Bring your dog if you like and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The inn is in pristine condition. The rooms are clean and functional. The front porch and the garden are relaxing places to sit and read or think. The inn keepers were pleasant and professional. The inn is located in the middle of Parrsboro within walking distance of cafes and grocery stores. We used the inn as a base to kayak in Advocate harbor. I would definitely stay at the Inn again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

It's a big beautiful house turned Inn. We had the room on the right coming in. As there was only one other person staying (whom we never saw) it was very quiet. We were very comfortable. We didn't have much opportunity to enjoy the sitting rooms, which were full of interesting furniture and other things to look at.

Gillespie House is part of a B&B network. Others in the network will give you a discount - worth checking it out. We've stayed in three so far.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flight2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillespiehouseinn, Owner at Gillespie House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

We are very pleased when our guests have enjoyed their stay. Thank you for taking time to share this information with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews