We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bare Bones Bistro - CLOSED

Bare Bones Bistro
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Bare Bones Bistro is located on Main Street overlooking the harbour. Witness the worlds highest tides right from our establishment! You can enjoy your dining experience with us on our licensed patio or in our "antique nautical"dining room. The food that chef Glenn Wheaton prepares is amazing and he sources every ingredient that he possibly can locally. Even the beef in the 1/2 lb burger is made from 100% organic grass fed beef raised about an hour away. The vegetables are grown by a local farmer and the fish is purchased from local fishermen. Our wine list is 90% Nova Scotian and the decor in the dining room reflects Parrsboro's rich ship building history. Chef Glenn believes in supporting local, is proud of his towns history and it shows. Join us for a dining expereince that many people have said they would have never expected to find in a little town like Parrsboro!
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

While visiting Parrsboro, my husband and I dined at Bare Bones on the recommendation of our innkeeper. The food exceeded all expectations. The presentation was as beautiful as any I've seen in fine, big-city restaurants and all the flavors were amazing. The view of the bay was gorgeous and added much to the overall dining experience. If we had stayed in Parrsboro longer than one night, we definitely would have dined here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Margo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Go and have their chowder- you won't regret it. Also loved the lobster fritter, chow and bread muffins they served before our meal and highly recommend the chicken pasta with chipotle sauce and the balckened flounder with risotto. I heard from someone else that their scallops and their desserts are great too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarbK68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best food in the area and in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is definitely off the beaten path but for anyone familiar with this area of Nova Scotia, it is well worth the trip. First off the area itself is worth visiting for the scenery and the history. The restaurant is downtown Parrsboro and right across from the river. We sat at the window and watched two Eagles diving for food into the river. The food itself is also a treat. The fish was fresh and cooked perfectly (Scallops were kissed by the pan, the way they should be cooked), appetisers were delicious, fresh and unique. Deserts were absolutely yummy. Athmosphere is casual but pleasant and the staff were friendly and service was very good. They change the menu every couple of weeks and although limited in options, there is something for everyone and always with a unique twist. They also have regular bands for entertainment which makes for a nice change. I would rate it the best in the area by far.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TONYfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere. The food was delicious and the chef was willing to adjust the offered food to our taste. I can definitley understand how the place earned it's place in "Taste of Nova Scotia" booklet.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Youliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in Parrsboro!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Parrsboro and ate here 3 times because of the excellent food and service. It's as good as Wild Caraway (my husband says better!). For our first dinner we both enjoyed the Treasure Salad which included young greens, candied walnuts, apples, cranberries and feta with maple cider vinaigrette. My husband had lobster linguine with chili lime creme sauce. I had pan fried flounder, new potatoes and sauteed veggies. We shared the Lady Jessica, a warm blueberry cake with brown sugar sauce & Chantilly cream. The dessert was named in honor of the Chef's grandmother who inspired him throughout his career as a Chef.
For lunch the Fish burger and the vegetarian dish were both tasty. Then for our final dinner we ordered the Treasure salads again. Hubby loved the Oven roasted Atlantic Halibut and my Linguine with grilled chicken, sauteed veggies, bacon and lemon-dill cream sauce was wonderful. Congratulations Bare Bones for combining fine dining with a truly casual atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngieSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bare Bones Bistro also viewed

 
Parrsboro, Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing