We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well-maintained, but nothing special overall.”
Review of The Sunshine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sunshine Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parrsboro
Halifax Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Clean and well-maintained, but nothing special overall.”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We spent two nights here with our 8 and 11 year old kids. The room was exceptionally well-maintained, and as someone else said, immaculately clean. However, it was definitely a motel room--space for the beds and not much else. Even though they were full, we found it very quiet--more a function of the guests they attract (we were able to hear a little chat when people were coming and going, but the other guests were considerate and not noisy), but however I get an undisturbed sleep, I appreciate it. Tv didn't get a bunch of channels, and while I did get a weak wifi signal, I couldn't test it out as I hadn't asked for the network key. (And there was no in-room phone to call the office). Bath towels were good, but hand towels were virtually threadbare.

For us, the most unsastisfactory part was the a la carte breakfast. Our table for four was barely big enough for two, which was a bad start. The food was very generous, and my omelette was quite tasty. However, there were no small/cheaper options. My 8 year old ate one of the four huge pancakes she received (about $7 I believe), and my 11 year old only got half way through his 3 slices of french toast, yummy as it was. Add another $2 each for their milk (tea/coffee included but not cold drinks) and we paid over $40 for a breakfast that only got half eaten. Not very family friendly. If I went again I'd ask if we could split two breakfasts, and order some extra toast on the side. But a good host, in my opinion, would have warned us the portions were huge for children, and offered up front to split an order. Oh, and it's cash-only for breakfast.

Most of the other guests seemed to be adult couples, and had that been our situation, the size of the room (small) and the size of the breakfast (large) probably would've been fine. I wouldn't recommend it for families, though honestly, it doesn't look like there's much better to choose from in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    10
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
20
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We spent one night at this motel and were impressed by how clean and fresh the room was. The next morning we had breakfast at the motel and this was the best part. We chatted with the owners for ages, who are genuinely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent too. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daltry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We also enjoyed ourselves very much at The Sunshine Inn. The clean room and the hospitality are legendary. We will be back!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_S73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

This Motel is the cleanest we have stayed in for a long time. We ask for a scent free room when we reserved and we were not disappointed. It was much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank canadian_adventures2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We found this gem in the Nova Scotia Doers and Dreamers Book, and were lucky enough to book a room for 2 nights in July of 2009. The owners were so nice and welcoming, our room was immaculate, and we loved the location as it was central to many things we wanted to see in Nova Scotia. My chef husband and I both enjoyed the breakfasts that they served, all the patrons talked with each other, and they made special pancakes for our 2 year old daughter. A blueberry farmer was having breakfast there and heard us ask when blueberry season was...and it was obvious we were disappointed that we were about 2 weeks early. The blueberry farmer took us out to his field and told us to take whatever we wanted! That's the kind of place this hotel is!
We absolutely recommend this place, and I'm now planning our trip for this year, and hopeful that we can get a cabin!
If the owners read this, it's Jim and Mary from St. Thomas Ontario! Can't wait to get back to Parrsboro!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeLoVeNoVaScOtIa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

The Sunshine Inn is a small motel with cottages right outside of Parrsboro, NS. Our group stayed in the accessible cottage and one of the motel rooms. Both rooms were very clean and served our purposes well. The hosts were very accommodating and truly belong in the hospitality industry. They were pleasant to chat with, were helpful with any request, and made us feel very welcome.

One of the best parts of the motel was its adjacent blueberry field. We picked blueberries a lot. The motel's restaurant also served fabulous blueberry pancakes (more than you can eat)!

The breakfast at their restaurant is reportedly "the best breakfast in town." I don't know that I could disagree because we liked it so much we didn't eat anywhere else. They have many choices with very reasonable prices (breakfast for $5-10). The restaurant is run by the couple that owns the motel (they are the chefs, waitstaff, etc). It is only open for breakfast.

The motel does have wireless internet, but you usually have to go outside and close to the office (or just sit in the restaurant) in order to pick up the signal.

If I am in Parrsboro again, I would definitely stay at the Sunshine Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D-Phud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

I am from upstate NY and recently traveled through Nova Scotia with about ten others on a hiking trip for a college class. We spent one night in Parrsboro at the Sunshine Inn and I wish that every place we stayed was as lovely as this motel. The couple who runs the place are great. Not only were our rooms modern and spotless, there was a definite sense of comfort and security. The next morning, breakfast at the little diner attached was amazing. The coffee was the best I have had in a long time and the blueberry pancakes were amazing. The couple and their daughter were making the food and taking care of us and we extremely kind and friendly. When I mentioned that I hated to leave my leftovers (we were traveling and eating out of coolers), the man (sadly, I can't remember his name) surprised me by putting my eggs on two slices of wheat toast and then wrapping it up nicely for me to eat later. It was so sweet. I rarely see hospitality and kindness when staying anywhere. I would absolutely recommend The Sunshine Inn!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelina2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parrsboro
24.3 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Maple Inn
The Maple Inn
#2 of 7 in Parrsboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Parrsboro Mansion Inn
The Parrsboro Mansion Inn
#1 of 7 in Parrsboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Beach Breeze Motel
Beach Breeze Motel
#1 of 1 in Grand Pre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gillespie House Inn
Gillespie House Inn
#3 of 7 in Parrsboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
18.8 mi away
Farmhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunshine Inn

Property: The Sunshine Inn
Address: 4487 Highway 2 | RR #1, Parrsboro, Nova Scotia B0M 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Parrsboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parrsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sunshine Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel and cottage rentals nestled in a lush green valley on the outskirts of picturesque Parrsboro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sunshine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunshine Inn Parrsboro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing