We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot in a Small Town”
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in New Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Union Square
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Spot in a Small Town”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great meal here with friends in late August 2013....loved the mussel appetizer with sausage and the cassoulet entre was to die for...the soup special that night was also amazing..This chef can get huge flavours going with his plates. Nice atmosphere and it was great having the chef come out and speak to patrons..us included... you know chefs do not do that enough and it is great PR.
Will definitely plan a trip around this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thegourmetox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food is Excellent!!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not only is the food good but the service is to! Its a bit pricy but ABSOLUTELY WORTH IT!!! I don't get to go there often enough! Their open, I think, from tuesday to saturday, from 5 to 8pm. Its AMAZINGLY GOOD FOOD! Atmosphere is also lovely, very warm and inviting. Last time I went was February 2011 give or take. But I know it to be good at any rate!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 396Hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A treat in New Glasgow”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Service was first-class and well-informed. Food was interesting and tasty. The chef knows how to cook vegetables properly, and how to present them well. It's definitely a spot for special occasions, for that elegant meal you promised yourself. Not for the burgers and fries crowd.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2violiststravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Big-city gourmet dining in small-town Nova Scotia”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I have dined here about four times per year over the past decade. Chef Robert Vinton never ceases to amaze. The décore is subtle, and features the works of many local artists. I usually start with the Bistro salad which features fresh goat's cheese, but I've also tried the gnocci, garnished with a flavorful ragù. The fish entrées are outstanding--check for specials on the board, which offer delectable variations from the menu. Crème brûlée is a dessert that requires an expert hand in order to avoid burning; at The Bistro, it's always done perfectly. Finish the evening with an espresso with just the right layering of crema to top off your fine-dining experience. There is a good wine list. Reservations are highly recommended. Parking is on the street, right out front. The only thing missing from the menu--oysters on the half shell.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ABANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The decor makes you feel you are in Italy!!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The food here is the best. The surroundings are so very Italian and the service was great. A lovely place to eat with friends.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 
New Glasgow, Nova Scotia
New Glasgow, Nova Scotia
 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing