We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a couple of hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, NS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Just a couple of hiccups”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was traveling with family, 2 with arthritis in their knees, one who is claustrophobic as well, and a person who had hip replacement, so nobody could climb stairs. I called ahead and asked for a 1st floor room, when we arrived to check in , they had our party listed for a second floor room. When told that we had booked a first floor room, a check of our reservation confirmed that request and we were given adjoining first floor rooms. The rooms were clean, comfortable and the heating system was easy to figure out. We went about our business the next day and came back expecting a late checkout, as requested. My initial conversation with the hotel included a 2 pm checkout as we were at a university graduation which was a 30 minute drive from where we were staying. Attempting to enter our room, we found that the electronic key did not work and we were told that they keys reset at 12 noon. This would be rather inconvenient if you were staying multiple days. I explained that we had a late checkout for 2 pm, and I was told that no, late check is at 1pm. At any rate, the key was reset and we went into our room, collected our luggage and other belongings, packed our vehicle, paid for the rooms and left.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moshesh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    77
    42
    13
    7
See reviews for
54
70
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Country Inn and Suites was clean, quiet and in a very convenient location near shops, restaurants and the highway. Staff were wonderful - friendly and efficient. The rooms are a bit dated, but clean and quiet and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryBethC786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISngGM, General Manager at Travelodge Suites New Glasgow, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Our current guest satisfaction scores show that overall our guests score us an 8.95 out of 10 for satisfaction. Our mantra is provide that friendly service and clean comfortable rooms for all guests.

In 2013 we will commence renovations giving both rooms and public areas a 'face lift'. I hope when your travels takes you back to New Glasgow that you will choose once again to stay at Country Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed for a night in Nov 12. Room is little bit dated but the bed was very comfortable. Efficient and friendly staff. Location is great with malls and restaurants just across the road. My beloved found the coin operated laundry quick and efficient. Breakfast spread is sufficient, nothing to shout about

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
260 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have stayed at two other Country Inn & Suites and have thoroughly enjoyed these hotels. This hotel is more in the budget class but not the rates. The furniture was dated and there were bleach stains on the carpet. The hotel staff were nice and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank researchtraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISngGM, General Manager at Travelodge Suites New Glasgow, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am terribly sorry that your experience with us was disappointing. At our Country Inn & Suites New Glasgow, room upgrades are an ongoing project with approximately 12 rooms still to complete. Prior to the end of 2013 the entire hotel will see many upgrades. Should your travels find you back in our area we hope that you will visit us and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

If only they were all like this for the money we would definately travel more.
The staff went out of their way to accomodate our needs and were very friendly and efficient.
The rooms are very good and it makes such a change when you don't resent what you are paying. We were on a 50 day road trip and this hotel is in our top 5. It is a shame the surrounding businesses are not as clever as this hotel. We arrived late! ( 8ish ! ) on a Saturday night in July and New Glasgow was shut apart from a pub ! If any body at the hotel has any clout with the local business people do them a favour and tell them to open later during high season. Guess what if they do and offer good food,drink and service at a reasonable price people might come back. Just a thought ! Any way great hotel if you are passing through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captaingeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glasgow
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
1.2 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
#3 of 3 in New Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
7.6 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
7.3 mi away
Willow House Inn
Willow House Inn
#2 of 12 in Pictou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Suites New Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Suites New Glasgow

Property: Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
Address: 700 Westville Rd, New Glasgow, Nova Scotia B2H 2J8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > New Glasgow
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Suites New Glasgow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the cozy atmosphere of our lobby, enjoy a book from our Read It and Return book shelf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Suites New Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson New Glasgow
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson New Glasgow Hotel New Glasgow
Country Inn New Glasgow
New Glasgow Country Inn
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing