We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shelter from the storm.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Shelter from the storm.”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We got stuck in a storm for the second time. With the causeway closed we stopped at the Country Inn and Suites and they once again gave us the "compassionate" rate. We ended up in one of their suites. Great stay like the last time. Free coffee, tea and cookies as well as breakfast included. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigTuna3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    90
    47
    13
    8
See reviews for
58
83
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed one night on a driveabout through Nova Scotia. Our needs were simple, and easily met by this property. Sure, the decor is reminiscent of my mother's home in the early 80's but in rural Nova Scotia, I'm not looking for an upscale property with a nouveau aesthetic. Our check in and out experiences were efficient and pleasant. The room was clean and everything worked as it should. The breakfast was adequate for a "no additional charge" offering and the DVD and book/magazine borrowing privileges were a nice touch (new releases and current magazines - can't complain). Considering we arrived after 9 PM and left less than 12 hours later, I can honestly say our needs and expectations were met in this property.

Swiss Chalet is next door; Tim Horton's and Wendy's very close by. There is a Canadian Tire and a Future Shop across the road. It was easy to find the hotel by following the signs posted along the highway (thank you!).

Room Tip: There is lots of parking around the back of the hotel; the parking stalls on the front are for the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecormack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Property needs a facelift, interior is dark, carpets are smelly, combination of old smoke, mildew and age. The rate of $129 for a basic room is way too much for this property (but they were fully booked, time of year I guess)), it should be more like $79, especially when you consider that I stayed in a much larger/nicer room @ the much newer Holiday Inn Express, across the highway, the following night for the same price.
Don't get me wrong, I have stayed in much, much worse hotels where i didn't even get undressed to sleep (if you can call it that) on (not in) the bed but competition has increased and there's just no comparison between this "dated" property and other options available.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluenoser321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a typical Country Inn & Suites, made even better by its helpful staff. Dana at the front desk was very generous with her time in helping with restaurant recommendations, and even phoned a restaurant in Pictou that she suggested to ensure they were still open.

Very comfortable bed, clean room, and decent free continental breakfast.

I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheEasyGoingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

After spending the previous night at what they call a four star hotel in Halifax this hotel should have been a 6 star. We got stuck in a storm on the way home and decided that we'd stay in New Glasgow for the night. Staff was extremely friendly and we were given the "compassionate rate" which we were grateful for. The room was big with a king size bed. Free wireless internet was included, free hot chocolate and cookies in the lobby as well as free dvd movies (fairly new releases!). There was also a free breakfast in the morning. The bed was comfortable and we had a great stay. Swiss Chalet, Tim Horton's and Wendy's nearby. We'd stay there again if we had a reason to go to New Glasgow!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTuna3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Stayed July 13,14,2010
We travel to New Glasgow to visit relatives and friends and we always stay here. The staff are so helpful and friendly. We always get a suite which has a a separate sleeping area and the sofa and chair are in a separate room with a microwave and fridge as well as a bar sink. Very convenient when relatives are visiting. The rooms are very spacious and consistently clean which is very important.
The breakfast is great and there is something for everyone, sausage, eggs, French toast, muffins, bagels, English muffins, cereals, breads, fruits, yogart as well as coffee, tea and juices.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanJacMur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Hotel is typical (off interstate) facility. Large and clean rooms with wireless internet, cable TV and good breakfast. Three star facility with very nice staff. Bed was very comfortable. Note that their are not many choices for eating dinner near the hotel. Town does not appear to offer much, we stopped there because we were in transit to Cape Breton.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derrick6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glasgow
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
1.2 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
#3 of 3 in New Glasgow
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
7.6 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
101 reviews
7.4 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Suites New Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Suites New Glasgow

Property: Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
Address: 700 Westville Rd, New Glasgow, Nova Scotia B2H 2J8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > New Glasgow
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Suites New Glasgow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the cozy atmosphere of our lobby, enjoy a book from our Read It and Return book shelf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Suites New Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson New Glasgow Hotel New Glasgow
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson New Glasgow
Country Inn New Glasgow
New Glasgow Country Inn
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing