We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good noon time specials”
Review of Frog & toad - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Frog & toad
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good noon time specials”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The food is great and portions are a good size. Always fresh and hot. Love the surroundings I just wish there was wheel chair accessibility to take a friend with me. Very cozy and a great gathering place with friends. Tv's are a little loud but they will turn them down when asked.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank roakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Glasgow, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a restaurent that we used to go to alot but it is not at all the same.The prices are more than double but the service is really bad.We had a waitress that was rude and nasty.My order for a hamburger platter was served a hot hamburg.When I told her that was not what I ordered she got very rude.When asked about a drink menu she sighed and pointed to the wall and said " the prices are right there" All I can say is good bye.There are too many other places to eat and it wouldn't be hard to get better food or service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pictou, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This little place is a big surprise when you walk through the door, you open the door and walk down the stairs to a wonderful cozy little pub.This place has great steak an wings with a very comforable atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NSAdventureSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“pub food but good”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

we enjoyed it, have been a couple times when in NG, hubby liked the cajun frog legs, the chicken nachos were massive, the chicken wrap was tasty and the beef dip etc were all good pub food done right.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveMySpouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The restaurant is a cool basement room with good atmosphere and pub decore. There is a Martini bar as well.
Garlic mashed potatoes to die for! Steak and fish specials were delicious. The glass of wine was a generous serving. Service was quick and food was piping hot. MMM.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog & toad also viewed

 
New Glasgow, Nova Scotia
New Glasgow, Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing